Moved: Move the 802 Executive approve the IEEE 802.20 Working Group PAR extension request and form for forwarding to NesCom and SAB for approval.

Moved: Upton/Heile

Steve Mills indicated that it is his intention not to penalize 802.20. He indicated that, though a formal decision has not been made, he believes the SB is in agreement with his position. It is the intent to find a way to allow the work to go forward to completion. He indicated that, should a way to allow 802.20 to continue productively, the PAR would not be allowed to expire before an opportunity to deal with this motion by the EC was allowed. Steve encouraged the members of the EC to provide their input to the SB on their opinions on this issue and their rationale.

A view was expressed that the EC is responsible to review the process used to bring a PAR before it. The opinion was that, though the chair acted according to the motion passed by the working group and the working group unambiguously desired a PAR extension, the working group did not actually vote on the PAR.

It was expressed that the LMSC P&P requires that the working group approve a PAR in clause 17, at the end of item 2. An alternative position was expressed that this item applies to only new PARs for significant work.

Another opinion was expressed that, because of obstructive behavior going on in the working group, sending the motion back to the working group would likely result in failure of the motion.

Moved to amend: at the end of the motion add: "with modification to limit the extension to six months" and replace "SAB" with "SASB".

Moved: Sherman/Thaler

9/6/1 Passes

On the main motion, as amended:

Moved: Move the 802 Executive approve the IEEE 802.20 Working Group PAR extension request and form for forwarding to NesCom and SASB for approval with modification to limit the extension to six months.

Buzz Rigsbee	yes
Mat Sherman	yes
Roger Marks	no
Steve Shellhammer	yes
Mike Lynch	yes
Vivek Gupta	abstain
Bob Heile	yes
Pat Thaler	yes
Stuart Kerry	yes
Tony Jeffree	no
Carl Stevenson	yes
Bob Grow	no
Mike Takefman	no
John Hawkins	no
Bob O'Hara	no
Jerry Upton	yes
	-

7/21/2006 Page 71

The above text was extracted from the 21 JUL 2006 IEEE 802 LMSC EC closing meeting draft minutes (page 330 of URL

http://www.ieee802.org/minutes/jul2006/Minutes%20-

%20Friday%20July%2021,%202006.pdf)