Unapproved Minutes IEEE 802.3 100 Gb/s Backplane and Copper Cable Study Group Plenary Meeting July 20, 2011 San Francisco, California

Prepared by: David Chalupsky

Meeting convened at 10:30 am, Wednesday, July 20, 2011.

Agenda & General Information

By - John D'Ambrosia

See - http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/100GCU/public/jul11/agenda_01a_0711.pdf

- Chair outlined the agenda for the meeting.
- Introductions Everyone introduced themselves and stated their affiliation.
- Chair asked if there were any reporters in the room. No one responded. Chair reminded everyone that photographs or recordings are not allowed without permission.

Motion #1: Motion to approve the agenda

- Moved by Steve Trowbridge
- Second by Hugh Barrass
- Approved by voice vote without objection.

Chair displays comments received on the May meeting minutes from Pete Anslow.

Motion #2: Motion to approve the May 2011 minutes with noted changes by Pete Anslow

- Moved by Pete Anslow
- Second by Mike Li
- Approved by voice vote without opposition.

Chair continued with his introductory presentation

- Goals for the week
 - Address comments on the PAR, 5 criteria, and objectives
 - Seek 802.3WG approval of the PAR, 5 Criteria, and objectives.
- Ground Rules
- IEEE Structure, Bylaws & Rules
 - Chair read the Guidelines for IEEE-SA meetings

Chair reviews the one comment received on the PAR.

Proposed response shown. See –

http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/100GCU/public/jul11/dambrosia_01_0711.pdf

Only change is to change the date for submittal to RevCom

Actual changes to PAR are displayed by David Law.

Chair reviews project documentation in the presentation to be delivered at 802.3 closing plenary. See – http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/100GCU/public/jul11/0711_100GBCU_close_report.pdf Chair noted inclusion of slide #23 from goergen_01a_0511.pdf in backup slides for definition of "improved FR-4" as was discussed at the May meeting. Discussion of the use of that definition and the phrase "or better." Note that the reach objective is for "improved FR-4 (as defined by IEEEP802.3ap) or better."

Updated PAR is recorded in (http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GCU/par_a_0511.pdf)

Motion #3: Move to approve par_a_0511.pdf

- Technical Motion (>=75%)
- Moved by Mike Bennett
- Second by Valerie Maguire
- Results (all in the room)
- Yes: 120 No: 0 Abstain: 2
- Results (802.3 voters)
- Yes: 73 No: 0 Abstain: 0

<u>Motion #4</u>: The Study Group requests that IEEE 802.3 extends the 100 Gb/s Backplane and Copper Cable Study Group. (procedural, >50%)

- Moved by Pat Diamond
- Second: John McDonough
- Results: passes by voice without objection

Chair discusses plans for future meetings.

Agenda is concluded, Chair asks if anyone has any further business. No response.

Motion to adjourn by Marek Hajduczenia, 2nd by Hugh Barrass Meeting adjourned at 11:25am.

Attendee List

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
Abbas	Ghani	Ericsson, UK
Abbott	John	Corning
Amleshi	Peerouz	Molex
Anslow	Pete	Ciena Corporation
Balasubramanian	Vittal	FCI
Baldwin	Thananya	Ixia
Balocating	Ed	Bourns
Barrass	Hugh	Cisco
Beaudoin	Denis	Texas Instruments

Bennett	Mike	LBNL
Bhoja	Sudeep	Broadcom
Brown	David	Gennum
Bugg	Mark	Molex
Carlson	Steve	HSD
Carroll	Martin	Verizon
Chalupsky	David	Intel
Chen	Chung-Jue	Broadcom
Cheng	Wheling	Juniper Networks
Chou	Joseph	Realtek
Coenen	Robert	Reflex Photonics
D'Ambrosia	John	Force 10 Networks
Dan	Angelo	ST Microelectronics
Dawe	Piers	IPtronics
DeMuth	Brian	US Government
Diamond	Pat	Semtech
DiMinico	Christopher	MC Communications/LEONI
Donnay	Elizabeth	Cisco Systems
Dudek	Mike	QLogic
Dupuis	Mark	Madison Cable
Edwards	Gareth	Xilinx
Estes	Dave	UNH - IOL
Ewen	John	IBM
Flatman	Alan	LAN Technologies
Forbes	Harry	Nexans
Fu	Hong Yan	Huawei
Ganga	Ilango	Intel
Ghiasi	Ali	Broadcom
Goergen	Joel	Cisco
Gustlin	Mark	Cisco
Hajduczenia	Marek	ZTE
Hamano	Hiroshi	Fujitsu Labs
Hidaka	Yasuo	Fujitsu Lab of America
Huang	Xi	Huawei
Innis	James	Freescale
Ishida	Osamu	NTT
Iwadate	Hirotake	Sumitomo Electric
Jewell	Jack	Independent
Jiang	Hongtao	Broadcom
Jimenez	Andrew	Anixter Inc.
Katz	Walter	Signal Integrity Software
Kawatsu	Yasuaki	Hitachi-Cable
Kipp	Scott	Brocade

Kodama	Satoshi	NTT
Kvist	Bengt	Ericsson
Lackner	Hans	QoSCom
Latchman	Ryan	Mindspeed
Laubach	Mark	Broadcom
Law	David	HP
Lenkisch	Andreas	Schroff Gmbh Germany
Lewis	Dave	JDSU
Li	Mike	Altera
Liang	Haixiang	Huawei
Lusted	Kent	Intel
Maguire	Valerie	Siemon, TIA
Maki	Jeffery	Juniper Networks
Malkman	Yonaton	Mellanox
Mallette	Edwin	Bright House Networks
McDonough	John	NEC America
McNarney	Martin	Broadcom
Meghelli	Mounir	IBM
Minich	Steve	FCI
Misek	Brian	Avago Technologies
Moeller	Merrick	Amphenol
Moore	Charles	Avago Technologies
Nonen	Hideki	Hitachi Cable
Northcott	Phil	PMC-Sierra
Obara	Satoshi	Fujitsu
Ofelt	David	Juniper Networks
Palkert	Tom	Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex
Panguluri	Sesha	Broadcom
Park	Jisang	LS Cable
Patel	Pravin	IBM
Pepper	Gerald	Ixia
Perrie	Randy	OneChip Photonics
Petrilla	John	Avago Technologies
Pimpinella	Rick	Panduit Corp.
Powell	Scott	Broadcom
Rabinovich	Rick	Alcatel-Lucent
Ran	Adee	Intel
Rateg	Hamid	Inphi
Remein	Duane	FiberHome
Sambasivan	Sam	AT&T
Savi	Olindo	Hitachi Cable
Searles	Shawn	Advanced Micro Devices
Sela	Oren	Mellanox

Seth	Siddharth	Inphi
Shanbhag	Megha	TE Connectivity
Slavick	Jeff	Avago Technologies
Sprague	Ted	Infinera
Stassar	Peter	Huawei
Szczepanek	Andre	Texas Instruments
Tanaka	Naruto	Sumitomo Electric Industries LTD (SEI)
Tazebay	Mehmet	Broadcom
Telxeira	Antonio	NSN
Tian	Feng	SEI
Toyoda	Hidehiro	Hitachi
Tracy	Nathan	Tyco Electronics
Trowbridge	Steve	Alcatel-Lucent
Umnov	Alexander	Fujitsu
Vaden	Sterling	Optical Cable Corp.
Wang	Zhongfeng	Broadcom
Zeng	Li	Huawei
Zhang	James	Qualcomm
Zivny	Pavel	Tektronix