Unapproved minutes Next Gen 100G Optics SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 21 Aug 2012

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GNGOPTX/public/smfadhoc/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html).

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 20 August. No one responded.

Presentation #1

Title: 40GBASE-ER4 optical budget

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena

See: anslow_01a_0812_smf.pdf

There was some discussion over the suitability of 19 dB maximum channel insertion loss and two questions were asked:

- What coverage of links is the 18 dB loss for 100GBASE-ER4 equivalent to?
- What loss does the channel loss for 10GBASE-ER translate to for 40GBASE-ER4 wavelengths?

Subject to further discussion and the answer to these two questions, the meeting agreed that 19 dB is a reasonable starting point for the maximum channel insertion loss.

Jonathan King stated that a difference in extinction ratio between 6 dB and 5.5 dB would only produce a sensitivity change of about 0.1 dB OMA.

The values proposed for DGD_max, and channel loss difference with wavelength received no comments

It was provisionally agreed to hold a second SMF Ad Hoc meeting to try to reach consensus on the remaining optical budget items and hear any disagreements with what was proposed in anslow 01a 0812 smf on September 4 at 8:00 Pacific.

Please send presentation requests to Pete Anslow.

The meeting closed at 9:15 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list with the addition of Paul Kolesar and Dan Dove)

Jon Anderson, Oclaro

Pete Anslow, Ciena

Hsu-Feng Chou, Source Photonics

Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Galen Fromm, Cray

Eric Hall, Aurrion

Jonathan King, Finisar

Paul Kolesar, Commscope

Greg D Le Cheminant, Agilent

Huang Lu, China Mobile

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Liang Qiu, Nexans

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Peter Stassar, Huawei

Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

Nathan Tracy, TE

Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Eddie Tsumura, SEI

Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics

Alexander Umnov, Huawei

CK Wong, FCI