Next Generation 100G Optics MMF ad hoc 10th January 2012 approved meeting notes r2

jonathan king

MMF ad hoc notes, 10th January 2012

- 10.08 Meeting start, attendee list taken from Webex attendee list
- 10.09 Presentations and discussion topics
 - (Presented material is available at http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GNGOPTX/public/mmfadhoc/meetings/index.html)
 - Petar Pepeljugoski presented an update on the mode partition noise treatment in the spreadsheet model, including an overview of his proposed changes.
 - Q&A: In response to questions, Petar said that he believed MPN was a Gaussian process down to very low probabilities. The revised spreadsheet shows most (but not all) of the 10G SR space still has a closed link, but it makes MPN 'blow up' faster for higher CD links; Mike Dudek noted that provided new PMDs stay below reaches where MPN was <0.5dB, the difference between original and revised spreadsheet would be negligible. After the meeting, Petar sent a copy of his revised model to the ad hoc chair for distribution.</p>
 - Ali Ghiasi presented power and complexity of 100G SR4 implementations. The presentation compared and graded power and complexity of unretimed, retimed, and retimed with equalizer links.
 - Q&A: Clarification of the power breakdown was requested it was suggested that block diagrams would help the
 presentation.

As presentation and discussion was limited by the time available, attendees were encouraged to continue any discussion on the Next gen 100G reflector

- 11.10 Meeting notes of 13th Dec were approved
- 11.11 Brief discussion on timing of next call (January 17th, 2012, the last before the IEEE January interim meeting) it was agreed to schedule the meeting will be 8am-9.30am to avoid overlap with an OIF meeting the same week.
- 11.15 End

Attendees

- Jonathan King, Finisar
- Brian Misek, Avago Technologies
- John Petrilla, Avago Technologies
- Schmuel Levy, Mellanox
- Pete Anslow, Ciena
- Paul Kolesar, Commscope
- Petar Pepeljugoski, IBM
- Piers Dawe, IPtronics
- Vipul Bhatt,
- Valerie Maguire,
- Mike Dudek, Qlogic
- Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom
- W Jiang
- Kapil Shrikhande, Dell
- George Noh
- Neenad Lalic
- Jack Jewell, independent
- Liang Qiu,

- Martin Gilpatric, Xilinx
- Greg LeCheminant, Agilent
- Andy Moorwood, Infinera
- Ryan Latchman, Mindspeed
- Gary Nicholl, Cisco
- Dan Dove, Applied Micro
- Rick Pimpinella, Panduit
- Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel Lucent
- N Tracy,
- Steve Swanson, Corning
- Phil McClay, TE Connectivity
- Adrian Amezcua, Draka
- Adam Healey,
- Mike Li,
- Mike Ressl, Hitachi Cable
- Matt Traverso, Cisco
- Chris Bergey,