Approved minutes Next Gen 100G Optics SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 14 Feb 2012

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GNGOPTX/public/smfadhoc/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html).

Presentation #1

Title: SMF Ad Hoc way forward

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena

See: anslow_01_0212_smf.pdf

In discussion there was general consensus that the only reach constraint below about 2 km for the solutions being considered was the cost of the parallel fiber. (Note that this does not define a loss budget except that it would include about 1 dB for fiber). Chris Cole suggested that the economic reach crossover point for parallel SM fiber is of the order of 500m rather than 1km. He was encouraged to generate a contribution to this effect.

Presentation #2

Title: Relative Cost Analysis – SMF Optics

By: Dan Dove, Applied Micro See: dove_01_0212_smf.pdf

During the presentation, Dan mentioned some minor changes to slide 7. In discussion Chris Cole indicated that Dan was imposing a stricter set of guidelines for cost analysis than David Law (the 802.3 WG Chair). Dan agreed to consult with David to clarify whether some of the 802.3 based presentations mentioned by Chris are within the guidelines or not.

The meeting closed at 9:00 am Pacific

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list with the addition of Jonathan King)

John Abbott, Corning
Jon Anderson, Opnext
Pete Anslow, Ciena
Vipul Bhatt, Lightwire

Brad Booth, Dell

Dave Brown, Gennum

Alessandro Cavaciuti, Cisco

Chris Cole, Finisar CK Cuikai, Huawei Piers Dawe, IPtronics

Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom

Paul Goldgeier, Color-chip

Eric Hall, Aurrion

Francis Ho, Inphi

Jim Innis, Freescale

Jonathan King, Finisar

Taichi Kogure, Opnext

Paul Kolesar, Commscope

Gerard Kuyt, Draka

Greg LeCheminant, Agilent

Sharon Lutz, US Conec

Phil McClay, TE

Andy Moorwood, Infinera

Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Mark Nowell, Cisco

David Ofelt, Juniper

Tom Palkert, Visi

Peter Pepeljugoski, IBM

Randy Perrie, Onechipphotonics

john Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Liang Qiu, Nexans

Mike Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Sam Sambasivan, ATT labs

Kapil Shrikhande, Dell

David Skirmont, Brocade

Ted Sprague, Infinera

Peter Stassar, Huawei Steve Swanson, Corning

I-Hsing Tan, Avago Technologies

Katsuhisa Tawa, SEI Matt Traverso, Cisco

Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Alexander Umnov, Huawei Paul Vanderlaan, Nexans