**Unapproved Minutes** 

400 Gb/s Ethernet Study Group Economic Feasibility Ad hoc

Teleconference January 7, 2014

Chaired by, and minutes taken by, Andy Moorwood, (Infinera)

The meeting was convened at 8:00 am US Pacific Standard Time.

Documentation for the call can be found on the ad hoc page:

http://ieee802.org/3/400GSG/public/adhoc/econ feas/index.shtml

The agenda was presented and agreed. Slide 5 of the agenda provided a link to the guidelines for IEEE meetings. The chair asked if anyone on the call was not familiar with these guidelines, and no one responded.

Andy Moorwood (Infinera) presented "Demonstrating Economic Feasibility of 400G Ethernet for the 5 Criteria Presentation", moorwood efa 01 14 0107.pdf. During discussion several editorial corrections were suggested and agreed. The chair asked for contributions to help close gaps identified in the presentation. Several possible sources were suggested by attendees, the chair took the action to contact these individuals and solicit presentations for the January interim meeting or if necessary a subsequent call / meeting.

Based on guidance from the 400 Gb/s Ethernet Study Group chair, a single presentation will be provided to the Indian Wells meeting including the ad hoc report and a proposal for the economic feasibility response.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:02 am US Pacific Standard Time.

## Attendees:

The following individuals emailed the chair, as requested during the call, so their attendance could be recorded in the minutes:

## Name (Affiliation)

Alexander Umnov (Fujitsu)

Ali Ghiasi (Independent)

Bill Szeto (Xtera)

Brian Teipen (ADVA)

Dale Murray (LightCounting)

Dan Dove (Dove Networking)

Daniel Sparacin (Aurrion)

David Law (HP)

David Lewis (JDSU)

Derek Cassidy (BT)

Ghani Abbas (Ericsson)

Jan Filip (Maxim Integrated)

John DAmbrosia (Dell)

Megha Shanbhag (TE Connectivity)

Michael Ressl (Hitachi Cable)

Paul Mooney (Spirent)

Pete Anslow (Ciena)
Peter Stassar (Huawei)
Piers Dawe (Mellanox)
Randy Rannow (APICHIP)
Ray Nering (Cisco)
Rich Mellitz, Intel Corporation
Sam Sambasivan (ATT labs)
Song Shang (Semtech)
Steve Trowbridge (Alcatel-Lucent)
Tom Palkert (Molex,Luxtera)
Tongtong Wang (Huawei)
Toshiki Tanaka( Fujitsu)
Winston Way (NeoPhotonics)
Xiaolu Song (Huawei)

Yonatan Malkiman (Mellanox)