IEEE P802.3av Task Force Meeting Minutes

Tokyo April 13-14, 2008

Recorded by Lowell Lamb & Ryan Hirth, Teknovus

Sunday, April 13, 2008

- 10:30 Chair calls meeting to order
- 10:30 Welcoming remarks by Mr. Fujimoto
- 10:32 Participants identified themselves and stated affiliation.
- 10:40 IEEE bylaws on affiliation declaration, patent policy, and other guidelines were displayed.
- 10:46 Call for Patents was made and there were no responses received.
- 10:46 Chair reviewed standardization process, current status, and projected time-line. For this meeting, all votes (except voice votes) will be taken twice, with all attendees voting first and 802.3 voters only voting second.

Motion #1: (10:55)

Approve minutes of March 2008 meeting as recorded in 3av_0803_minutes_unapproved.pdf and post them on the TF website as 3av_0803_minutes_approved.pdf

- Moved: Marek Hajduczenia
- Seconded: Ryan Hirth

(Procedural, $\geq 50\%$)

Passed by voice vote without opposition.

Motion #2: (11:00)

Approve the agenda for April 2008 meeting as presented in 3av_0804_agenda.pdf on slides 21-22.

- Moved: Duane Remein
- Seconded: Jeff Mandin

(Procedural, $\geq 50\%$)

Passed by voice vote without opposition.

- 11:00 Chair reviewed schedule for future IEEE 802.3av TF 2008 meetings.
- 11:02 Chair reviewed schedule for Joint ITU-T SG15/Q2 IEEE 802.3av workshop.
- 11:03 Discussion of requirements, schedule, and procedure for producing Draft 2.0.
- 11:15 Presentation by Marek Hajduczenia Channel-Link Model Ad Hoc Activity, 3av_0804_hajduczenia_11.pdf.

Motion #3: (11:20)

802.3av Task Force adopts the channel link model (formulas, not particular values) included in 3av_0804_linkmodel_v2_3.xls

- Moved: Marek Hajduczenia
- Seconded: Duane Remain

(Technical, $\geq 75\%$)

Passed by voice vote without opposition.

- 11:25 Presentation by Haim Ben Amram on the Jitter Budget, 3av 0804 benamram 1.pdf.
- 11:35 Presentation by Haim Ben Amram on Jitter Test Points, 3av 0804 benamram 2.pdf.
- 11:45 Discussion of what level of specification is needed for the jitter budget to ensure interoperability.

Straw Poll # 1 (12:15)

802.3av 10G-EPON should include 6 Jitter Test Points for each direction (DS and US) as presented in 3av_0803_benamram_2.pdf on slide 11.

- 12:20 Lunch break
- 13:40 Meeting resumed.
- 13:40 Presentation by Ryan Hirth on loop-timing, 3av_0804_hirth_1.pdf.

Discussion on merits of loop-timing, with emphasis on impact of removing loop-timing on the performance of the OLT burst-mode receiver.

Straw Poll # 2 (2:10)

10Gbps loop-timing specification should be

- Removed......6
- Mandatory......23
- Optional.....13
- Studied further......25
- -- Chicago rules

14:15 – Comment resolution

Straw Poll # 3 (15: 47)

Damage threshold parameter should remain in the Rx PMD tables in Clause 91

Yes.....23

No......7

No Opinion......28

Straw Poll #4 (16: 13)

Transceiver_settling (max) should be:

- a. 400 ns.....25
- b. 800 ns.....38
- c. 500 ns.....18

Chicago rules

16:25 – Coffee break

16:50 – Meeting resumed.

16:50 – Comment resolution

Straw Poll # 5 (17:05)

Damage_threshold (max) for column 3 in Table 91-11 should be:

c3 dBm3
18:02 – Coffee break
18:15 – Meeting resumed.
18:15 – Presentation by Jeff Mandin on OLT coexistence, 3av_0804_mandin_4.pdf.
19:00 – Comment resolution
17:45 – Recess
Monday, April 14, 2008
09:30 – Meeting resumed.
09:35 – Comment resolution
10: 37 – Presentation by Jeff Mandin on End-of-Burst Detection in 10G, 3av_0804_mandin_2.pdf. Various methods were discussed. Topic was deferred for further study.
11:03 – Comment resolution
11:05 – Coffee break
11:20 – Meeting resumed.
11:20 – Comment resolution
12:25 - Ryan Hirth assumes recording secretary - no objection
12:40 – Lunch break
14:00 – Comment Resolution
Straw Poll #6 (16:09)
When calculating REPORT
■ Include FEC overhead12
■ Do not include overhead14
■ Don't care21

Straw Poll #7 (16:16)

Report in units of (Vote for one only)

- FEC codeword......0
- Time_quanta......23
- Bytes......
- 66-bit clocks......2
- Don't care......20

Straw Poll #8 (16:19)

When calculating REPORT round up to integer number of FEC codewords(nearest time_quantum)

- Yes......
- No......24
- Don't care......26

Motion #4(16:24)

REPORT messages shall report queue length in units of time_quanta without rounding up to integer number of FEC codewords.

- Moved: Lior Khermosh
- Seconded: Marek Hajduczenia

(Technical, $\geq 75\%$)

Passed by voice vote without opposition

Motion #5 (17:55)

Empower the editors to incorporate changes recorded in 3av_0804_comments_proposed.pdf for Editorial (E and ER) comments against Draft 1.2 with license to make necessary editorial changes.

- Moved: Duane Remein
- Seconded: Ryan Hirth

(Technical, $\geq 75\%$)

Passed by voice vote without opposition

Motion #6 (17:59)

The Editors shall produce Draft 1.3 according to the comment resolutions recorded in 3av_0804_comments_d1_3_accepted.pdf, taking Draft 1.2 as the base

- Moved: Duane Remein
- Seconded: Marek Hajduczenia

(Technical, $\geq 75\%$)

Passed by voice vote without opposition

18:05 – New Feature proposals deferred to May meeting – no objections

18:06 – review of "Items for May.xls"

Motion #7 (18:43)

Move to Adjourn

- Moved: Duane Remein

- Seconded: Marek Hajduczenia

(Procedural, $\geq 50\%$)

For:.....41

Against:....0

Abstains:.....0

18:43 - Meeting adjourned.

Attendance List

Name	Affiliation
Agata, Akira	KDDI R&D Labs
Ben Amram, Haim	PMC Sierra
Chang, Frank	Vitesse
Daido, Fumio	Sumitomo Electric
Effenberger, Frank	Huawei
Feng, Dongning	Huawei
Furutani, Tomohiko	SOFTBANK BB
Geng, Dongyu	Huawei
Goukon, Kazuhiko	Q-Sync Corporation
Hajduczenia, Marek	Nokia Siemens
Hamano, Hiroshi	Fujitsu Labs

Hara, Hiroshi	Eudyna Devices Inc.
Haran, Onn	PMC Sierra
Hattori, Masaharu	KDDI R&D Laboratory Inc.
Hirano, Kengo	NEC NEC
Hirth, Ryan	Teknovus
Huang, Yanbin	Teknovus, Inc.
Ikeda, Hiroki	Hitachi
Jiang, Mark	Teknovus Inc
Khermosh, Lior	PMC Sierra
Kimura, Mitsunobu	Hitachi Communications Tech.
Kozaki, Seiji	Mitsubishi Electric
Kramer, Glen	Teknovus
Kubo, Ryogo	NTT Access Network Service Systems Labs.
Kuroda, Yasuyuki	OF Networks
Kusano, Toshihiko	PMC Sierra
Lamb, Lowell	Teknovus
Lee, Dongsoo	ETRI
Li, David	Ligent
Li, Rick	Teknovus
Lynskey, Eric	Teknovus
Ma, Zhuang	ZTE Corporation R&D Center (Shanghai)
Mandin, Jeff	PMC Sierra
Mashimo, Daisuke	Hitachi
Moritsugu, Tatsuro	Teknovus Japan K.K.
Mukojima, Toshiaki	Oki Electric Industry
Murayama, Daisuke	NTT Access Network Service Systems Labs.
Nagahori, Takeshi	NEC
Nishihara, Susumu	NTT Photonics Labs.
Nishio, Mari	Q-Sync Corporation
Nogawa, Masafumi	NTT Microsystem Integration Labs.
Nomura, Takumi	NEC Communication Systems
Obara, Satoshi	Fujitsu
Okuno, Michitaka	Hitachi, Ltd
Oota, Noriyuki	NTT Access Network Service Systems Labs.
Otaka, Akihiro	NTT
Rasztovits-Wiech, Michael	Nokia Siemens Networks
Remein, Duane	Alacatel-Lucent
Saeki, Naoto	NEC Corporation
Shi, Ying	Hitachi
Stadler, Andreas	Nokia Siemens Networks
Suenaga, Satoru	Kawasaki Microelectronics
Sun, Chang	ZTE Corporation R&D Center (Shanghai)
Suzuki, Ken-Ichi	NTT
Suzuki, Naoki	Mitsubishi Electric

Suzuki, Shinya	Eudyna Devices Inc.
Suzuki, Yasuhiro	NTT Electronics
Tajima, Akio	NEC
Takahashi, Akira	Mitsubishi Electric Corporation
TAKAHASHI, Seigo	NEC Corporation
Takeuchi, Seiji	Cortina Systems, Inc.
Takizawa, Motoyuki	Fujitsu Access
Tamura, Aki	Teknovus
Tanaka, Keiji	KDDI R&D Labs
Tsuji, Shinji	Sumitomo Electric
Uematsu, Kiyoshi	OKI Electric
Yokomoto, Tetsuya	Fujitsu Access
Yoon, Bin Yeong	ETRI
Yoon, Hosung	KT
Zhang, Boshan	ZTE Corporation