IEEE P802.3av Task Force Meeting Minutes

Seoul, South Korea September 15-18, 2008

Recorded by Frank Effenberger, Huawei Technologies

Monday, September 15, 2008

Meeting started 8:07

Frank Effenberger was dragooned into taking the meeting minutes.

Introductions were made. Note that assistant editor Marek Hajduczenia has changed affiliation to ZTE Corporation.

Rules and bylaws were noted: affiliation, on-line attendance.

Patent policy was read.

Call for patents was made at 8:21, but no response was received.

Antitrust rules were reviewed.

The project schedule was reviewed. It was mentioned that comments in the next 15-day review can only be on material that was changed.

Group ground rules were reviewed.

The reflector, URL, and private area password was mentioned.

Group officers were reviewed.

Minutes from the July 2008 meeting were reviewed.

Motion #1:

- Approve minutes of July 2008 meeting as recorded in
 3av_0807_minutes_unapproved.pdf with the following modification:
 - o In motion #6, replace "as recorder" with "as recorded"
- Post the approved minutes on the TF website as 3av_0807_minutes_approved.pdf.

Moved: Marek Hajduczenia Seconded: Ryan Hirth

(Procedural, required $\geq 50\%$)

Approved by voice without opposition.

Plan for this meeting was reviewed. Chair calls for each member to send in a list of comments that they want to discuss. Editors will compile the lists and this will guide our work. The order of clause review was presented. The meeting will meet from 8AM to 8PM.

Motion #2:

Approve the agenda for September 2008 meeting as presented in 3av_0809_agenda.pdf on slide 20.

Moved: Jeff Mandin, Seconded: Duane Remein. (Procedural, required ≥ 50%)

Approved by voice without opposition.

Electronic attendance tool was reviewed.

Meeting schedule was reviewed.

The group went into comment resolution.

Many comments were reviewed in clauses 75, 56, 0, 1, and 99.

Meeting recessed at 7:00pm Monday night.

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Meeting resumed at 8:00AM Tuesday morning.

Comments on clauses 76, 66, and 31 were reviewed. Comment responses and relevant straw polls and votes were recorded in the comment database.

Meeting recessed at 6:00PM Tuesday night.

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Meeting resumed at 8:00AM Wednesday morning.

Agenda was revised as to the order of the clauses without opposition.

Comments on clauses 45, 77, and 30 were reviewed. Comment responses and relevant straw polls and votes were recorded in the comment database.

During the discussion of substantive contributions and comments from Mr. Kramer, Mr. Remein assumed temporary chairmanship of the group.

Meeting recessed at 7:05PM Wednesday night.

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Meeting resumed at 8:30PM Thursday morning.

Remaining open comments that are tagged for discussion were reviewed.

At 1:15PM, chair has split the task force into four parallel tracks to discuss the following topics:

- **Track 1**: Develop specific proposal for comment #2302 (Calculation of the StopTime parameter in MPCP);
- **Track 2**: Develop specific proposal for comment #2387 (Description of the dual-rate operation);
- **Track 3**: Develop specific proposal for comment #1758 (Register bit for controlling FEC decoding function);
- **Track 4**: Develop specific proposal for comments ##2370, 2373, 2402, 2405 (removal of informative sunclauses from normative clauses).

At 2:15PM the task force resumed the "serial" discussion and all four tracks presented their proposals to the TF.

Comment responses and relevant straw polls and votes were recorded in the comment database

Mr. Effenberger has to leave, so Mr. Lynskey took over taking the minutes at 3:20PM.

Comment resolution ends at 4:15PM Thursday afternoon.

Jeff Mandin asked that the following be recorded in the minutes:

Comment #1758 was reviewed during the meeting, but not closed. Following the completion of comment resolution, two PDF files were created and reviewed. One contained all comments reviewed and closed during the meeting. The other file contained all comments not reviewed. To work around the limitations of comment database application, comment #1758 was temporarily closed. After the PDF files were created, this comment was reopened.

Motion 3:

- The Task Force accepts the proposed comment resolutions for all comments recorded in 3av_0809_comments_D2_0_consensus.pdf
- In the event of a conflict between comment resolutions, the editors are to give precedence to comments reviewed at the meeting, denoted by the label "[TO BE PROCESSED]".
- All such conflicts and chosen resolutions shall be published with draft D2.1.

Moved: Duane Remein

Seconded: Marek Hajduczenia (Technical, required ≥ 75%)

Y: 21 N: 0 A: 0

Motion passes

Motion 4:

Produce draft D2.1 by incorporating all closed comment responses, as recorded in 3av_0809_comments_D2_0_accepted.pdf, into a base draft D2.0 and conduct recirculation ballot on D2.1.

Moved: Duane Remein

Seconded: Marek Hajduczenia (Technical, required ≥ 75%)

Y: 22 N: 0 A: 0

Motion passes

Chair presents timeline to November meeting.

Break at 4:35pm. Meeting resumes at 4:50pm.

Presentations on Power Savings

Akihiro Otaka - Power saving adhoc report, Marek Hajduczenia - Adjustable Timer Value for Power Saving, Jeff Mandin - EPON powersaving via sleep mode.

Chair asks if there are any objections to let Frank Chang present a post-deadline presentation. There are no objections. Mr. Chang gives presentation titled "Re-consider 10G CDR Locking Time Specs for PR30 Upstream".

Motion 5:

Move to adjourn.

Moved: Jeff Mandin

Seconded: Marek Hajduczenia (Procedural, required ≥ 50%)

Approved by voice without opposition.

Meeting adjourns at 6:02pm.

List of Attendees

Last	First	Affiliation	Mon	Tue	Wed	Thu
Agata	Akira	KDDI R&D Laboratories	х	х	х	х
Ben-Amram	Haim	PMC-Sierra, Inc.	х	х	х	Х
Boshan	Zhang	ZTE Corp.	х	х	х	
Chang	Yongmao	Vitesse	х		х	х
Effenberger	Frank	Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.	х	х	х	х
Feng	Dongning	Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.	х	х	х	Х
Galambos	Tiberiu	PMC-Sierra, Inc.	х	х	х	х
Hajduczenia	Marek	ZTE Corp.	х	х	х	х
Hamano	Hiroshi	FUJITSU LABORATORIES	х	х	х	х
Hirth	Ryan	Teknovus	х	х	х	х
Kasturia	Sanjay	Teranetics				х
Kozaki	Seiji	Mitsubishi Electric	х	х	х	х
Kramer	Glen	Teknovus, Inc.	х	х	х	х
Kumagai	Seiji	Eudyna Devices Inc.	х	х	х	х
Kusano	Toshihiko	PMC-Sierra, Inc.	х	х	х	Х
Latchman	Ryan	Gennum Corporation	х			
Li	David	Ligent		х	х	х
Li	Jing	Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.	х	х	х	х
Lin	Ru	Shanghai Luster Teraband Photonics Co., Ltd.	х	х	х	х
Lynskey	Eric	Teknovus	х	х	х	х
Mandin	Jeffrey	PMC-Sierra, Inc.	х	х		х
Mukojima	Toshiaki	Oki Electric Industry Co., Ltd.	х	х	х	х
Murata	Hiroshi	Sumitomo Electric	х	х	х	х
Otaka	Akihiro	NTT	х	х	х	х
Remein	Duane	ALCATEL-LUCENT	х	х	х	х
Sambasivan	Sam	AT&T	х			
Suzuki	Ken-Ichi	NTT	х	х	х	х
Suzuki	Naoki	Mitsubishi Electric	х	х	х	х
Taich	Dimitry	Teranetics Inc				х
TAJIMA	AKIO	NEC Corporation	х	Х	Х	Х
Takizawa	Motoyuki	FUJITSU	х	Х	Х	Х
TSUJI	Shinji	Sumitomo Electric	х	Х		
Yoon	Bin Yeong	ETRI		Х	Х	Х
Yuanling	He	ZTE Corp.	х	Х	х	Х