7/14/09

Name

Meeting Attendees:

Mike Bennett Mario Traeber Michael Grimwood Joseph Chou Dennis Beaudoin Dan Dove Velu Pllai **Gavin Parnaby** David Koenen Sanjay Kasturia Bill Woodruff Jerry Throok Shinkyo Kaku Sudkuhar Gundubqula Jeff Lapak Nicholas Idvalis Scott Powell Kory Sefidvash Terry Cobb Matt Brown Adam Healey Mandeep Chadha James Zhang Bruce Nordman Wael Diab **Bob** Grow Satoshi Obara **Hugh Barrass**

Employer

LBNL Infineon Broadcom Real Com ΤI HP Broadcom Solarflare HP Teranetics Aquantia Lexmark Allied Telesis Marvell **UNH-IOL** Broadcom Broadcom Broadcom CommScope/Systimax AMCC LSI Vitesse Atheros LBNL Broadcom Intel Fukitsu Cisco

Affiliation LBNL Infineon Broadcom Real Tek ΤI HP Broadcom Solarflare HP Teranetics Aquantia Lexmark Allied Telesis Marvell **UNH-IOL** Broadcom Broadcom Broadcom CommScope/Systimax AMCC LSI Vitesse Atheros LBNL Broadcom Intel Fukitsu Cisco

7/14/09 (Bastille Day) San Francisco, California

Meeting opened with introductions at 9.00am

Hugh Barrass "volunteered" to act as recording secretary.

After introductions, Mike reviewed the goals for the meeting and general information.

Mike displayed the patent policy slides, reading aloud the highlights and guidelines and allowing time for the group to digest the information. There was no response from the members to the call for patents. These slides and other general information are included in Mike's presentation available on the website.

Motion #1 M: Hugh Barrass S: V. Pillai - The meeting minutes from the last meeting were approved by voice.

Mike continued with the general information in the agenda slideset. Mike explained that the primary goal for the meeting is to ensure technical completeness in order to progress to Working Group ballot. He said we will consider comments from the floor as necessary (please email comments to the chief editor) and we will also discuss some issues to be addressed in WG ballot.

Mike informed the attendees about the attendance recording mechanisms and briefly described the rules for voting membership.

Sanjay addressed some comments from the floor (6), the resolutions are captured in the comment database.

Bruce Nordman spoke to the TF about energy policy and EEE (a subject that he covered in his tutorial on 7/13/09).

After a break, Howard Frazier presented some concerns with preservation of existing (pre-EEE) clauses after the merge of .3az with the base standard. Howard's discussion prompted the submission of another comment (not directly related to his primary issue), that was resolved and the resolution captured in the comment database

Straw poll: How many people will attend the September interim?

Y 9 Probably yes 4 Probably no 0 No 0

Motion #2

Direct editors to produce Draft 1.6 of IEEE 802.3az based on Draft 1.5 and all resolved comments as recorded in "8023azD1p5responses.pdf".

M:G. Parnaby S: M. Traeber

Y:10 N:0 A:0 Technical motion; motion passed

Motion #3

Approve Draft 2.0, based on Draft 1.6

M:M. Chadha S: J. CHou

Y:10 N:0 A:0 Technical motion; motion passed

Motion #4

Move that the Task Force request that 802.3 circulate IEEE P802.3az Draft 2.0 for a 35 day 802.3 Working Group Ballot and comment, and conduct recirculations as necessary.

M:M. Traeber S: M. Chadha

Y:10 N:0 A:0 Technical motion; motion passed

Meeting broke for the evening & reconvened (after taking the next day off) on 7/16/09

7/16/09

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett Geoff Thompson Hugh Barrass Mandeep Chadha Satoshi Obara Mario Traeber Michael Grimwood James Zhang Dan Dove	LBNL GraCaSI Cisco Vitesse Fukitsu Infineon Broadcom Atheros HP	LBNL none Cisco Vitesse Fukitsu Infineon Broadcom Atheros HP
Matt Brown	AMCC	AMCC

The TF reviewed the chair's presentation for the closing plenary.

Motion #5, motion to adjourn - M: Hugh Barrass S: Mike Grimwood, passed by voice.