5/24/2010 Geneva, CH

Meeting Attendees:

Name **Employer Affiliation** Mike Bennett **LBNL LBNL** Ixia Larry Green Ixia Rachel Green Student Student Velu Pillai Broadcom Broadcom Michael Grimwood Broadcom Broadcom **Hugh Barrass** Cisco Cisco Ian Robertson TI TI Matt Brown **AMCC AMCC** Ed Nakamoto Spirent Spirent Mandeep Chadha Vitesse Vitesse Gavin Parnaby Solarflare Solarflare Jeff Slavic Avagotech Avagotech Li Zeng Huawei Huawei Steve Trowbridge Alcatel-Lucent Alcatel-Lucent Paul Vanderlaan Nexans Nexans Nexans Nexans

Harry Forbes John D'Ambrosia Force 10 Force10 Adam Healey LSI LSI Ghiani Abbas Ericsson Ericsson Dave Hess Nexans Nexans Yakov Belopolsky Bel Stewart Bel Stewart Sanjay Kasturia **Teranetics Teranetics Brad Booth** AppliedMicro AppliedMicro Blaine Kohl Ethernet Alliance **Ethernet Alliance** Scott Kipp **Brocade Brocade**

Masashi Kono Hitachi Hitachi **Howard Frazier** Broadcom Broadcom David Koenen HP HP David Law 3Com 3Com Jodi Haase **IEEE IEEE** Wael Diab Broadcom Broadcom

Meeting opened with introductions at 9.30am

Hugh Barrass volunteered to act as recording secretary.

After introductions, Mike reviewed the goals for the meeting and general information.

Mike displayed the patent policy slides, reading aloud the highlights and guidelines and allowing time for the group to digest the information. There was no response from the members to the call for patents. These slides and other general information are included in Mike's presentation available on the website.

IEEE P802.3az May Interim Meeting Minutes

Motion #01 M: H. Barrass, S: G. Parnaby - The meeting minutes from the last meeting were approved by voice.

Mike informed the attendees about the attendance recording mechanisms and briefly described the rules for voting membership.

Mike then turned control of the meeting over to Sanjay Kasturia for comment resolution.

The meeting broke for the day at 5.30pm.

5/25/2010 Geneva, CH

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett	LBNL	LBNL
Larry Green	Ixia	Ixia
Ian Robertson	TI	TI
Ed Nakamoto	Spirent	Spirent
David Lewis	JDSU	JDSU
Paul Vanderlaan	Nexans	Nexans
Sterling Vaden	OCC Fiber	OCC Fiber
Sanjay Kasturia	Teranetics	Teranetics
Dave Hess	Nexans	Nexans
Ghiani Abbas	Ericsson	Ericsson
Yakov Belopolsky	Bel Stewart	Bel Stewart
Masashi Kono	Hitachi	Hitachi
Joseph Chou	RealTek	RealTek
Harry Forbes	Nexans	Nexans
Gavin Parnaby	Solarflare	Solarflare
Hugh Barrass	Cisco	Cisco
Mandeep Chadha	Vitesse	Vitesse
Li Zeng	Huawei	Huawei
Valerie Maguire	The Siemon Co.	The Siemon Co.
Jeff Slavic	Avagotech	Avagotech
Bryan Sparrowhawk	Leviton	Leviton
Velu Pillai	Broadcom	Broadcom
Michael Grimwood	Broadcom	Broadcom
Wael Diab	Broadcom	Broadcom
Matt Brown	AMCC	AMCC
David Law	3Com	3Com
Adam Healey	LSI	LSI

The meeting restarted and resumed comment resolution at 9.00am and broke for the day at $5.15\,\mathrm{pm}$

5/26/2010 Geneva, CH

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett	LBNL	LBNL
Hugh Barrass	Cisco	Cisco
Larry Green	Ixia	Ixia
Mandeep Chadha	Vitesse	Vitesse
Michael Grimwood	Broadcom	Broadcom
Velu Pillai	Broadcom	Broadcom
Ed Turner	Gnodal	Gnodal
Jeff Slavic	Avagotech	Avagotech
David Koenen	HP	HP
Ian Robertson	TI	TI
Joseph Chou	RealTek	RealTek
Adam Healey	LSI	LSI
Gavin Parnaby	Solarflare	Solarflare
Yakov Belopolsky	Bel Stewart	Bel Stewart
Sanjay Kasturia	Teranetics	Teranetics
Matt Brown	AMCC	AMCC
Harry Forbes	Nexans	Nexans
Wael Diab	Broadcom	Broadcom

The meeting restarted and resumed comment resolution at 9.00am.

During the discussions on comment #365 the following straw polls were taken:

Straw poll #1

In the fast retrain, THP coefficients are zeroed before entering the the PMA_Coeff_Exch state $\,$

Yes: 2 No: 5

Straw poll #2

In the fast retrain, THP coefficients are retained when entering the the PMA_Coeff_Exch state $\,$

Yes: 5 No: 2

Straw poll #3

Allow the receiver to choose, in fast retrain, whether the THP coefficients are retained or zeroed:

Yes: 2 No: 5

IEEE P802.3az May Interim Meeting Minutes

The meeting broke for the day at 5.45pm.

5/27/2010

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett	LBNL	LBNL
Hugh Barrass	Cisco	Cisco
Larry Green	Ixia	Ixia
Michael Grimwood	Broadcom	Broadcom
Wael Diab	Broadcom	Broadcom
Matt Brown	AMCC	AMCC
Jeff Slavic	Avagotech	Avagotech
David Koenen	HP	HP
David Law	3Com	3Com
Adam Healey	LSI	LSI
Gavin Parnaby	Solarflare	Solarflare
Mandeep Chadha	Vitesse	Vitesse
Sanjay Kasturia	Teranetics	Teranetics

The meeting restarted and continued comment resolution at 9.00am

Straw polls regarding fast retrain:

```
For 10GBASE-T systems without EEE, avoid dropping % \left( 1\right) =1 link during fast retrain: Yes: 8
```

No: 0

For 10GBASE-T systems with EEE, avoid dropping $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) +\left(1\right) +\left($

Yes: 9

For 10GBASE-T systems without EEE, signal local fault during fast retrain:

Yes: 4 No: 6

For 10GBASE-T systems with EEE, signal local fault during fast retrain:

Yes: 3 No: 8

For 10GBASE-T systems without EEE, allow for dropping data during fast retrain:

Yes: 5 No: 3

IEEE P802.3az May Interim Meeting Minutes

For 10GBASE-T systems with EEE, allow for dropping data during fast retrain: Yes: 5 No: 4 For 10GBASE-T systems without EEE, allow for not dropping data during fast retrain: Yes: 7 No: 1For 10GBASE-T systems with EEE, allow for not dropping data during fast retrain: Yes: 9 No: 1 Motion #2 : W. Diab S: H. Barrass Move to adopt the following for behavior during fast retrain: - Link fault behavior as currently in the draft - an option to send IDLE instead Call the question - S. Kasturia - Y: 1 N: 3 ==> discussion continued. Y: 11 N: 0 A: 1 (technical, 75%) Motion #3 : W. Diab S: H. Barrass Change section 78.4.2.2 under the definition of PHY WAKE VALUE from "representing the Tw_phy" to "representing Tw_sys_tx (min)" Y: 6 N: 0 A: 1 (technical, 75%) Comment resolution finished at 2.59pm Motion #4 M. Hugh Barrass S: W. Diab Accept comment resolutions, along with the proposed responses to unresolved editorial comments, from D3.0 as recorded in the comment database. Direct the IEEE P802.3az editorial team to generate draft 3.1, based on Draft 3.0 and the resolution of comments against Draft 3.0 as recorded in the database including rogue comments and motion #3. Request the Working Group chair to initiate an IEEE SA sponsor ballot recirculation for P802.3az/D3.1 Y: 9 N: 0 A: 0 (technical, 75%) Mike showed the balloting and review schedule D3.1 ballot opens 7/17, closes 7/2. The results of the ballot and comments will be reviewed at the plenary. Mike showed the details of future meetings.

Motion #5 motion to adjourn: M. Mike Grimwood S. Velu Pillai

The meeting finished at 3.11pm on 5/27/10