11/11/08

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett	LBNL	LBNL
Satoshi Obara	Fujitsu	Fujitsu
John Louie	Broadcom	Broadcom
Dimitry Taich	Teranetics	Teranetics
Sean Lundy	Aquantia	Aquantia
Joachim Walewski	Siemens	Siemens
David Law	3Com	3Com
Jim Innis	Freescale	Freescale
Akihiro Tsuji	Mitsubishi	Mitsubishi
Jeff Lapak	UNH-IOL	UNH-IOL
Mandeep Chadha	Vitesse	Vitesse
Joseph Chou	Realtek	Realtek
Masaki Yamada	Hitachi	Hitachi
Paul Gyugyi	Google	Google
Bryan Dietz	Alcatel-Lucent	Alcatel-Lucent
Sanjay Kasturia	Teranetics	Teranetics
Michael Grimwood	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jim Graba	Broadcom	Broadcom
Hugh Barrass	Cisco	Cisco
George Zimmerman	Solarflare	Solarflare
James Zhang	Atheros	Atheros
Adam Healey	LSI	LSI
Anthony Magee	ADVA	ADVA
Wael Diab	Broadcom	Broadcom
Terry Cobb	Commscope/Systimax	Commscope/Systimax
David Kleritves	Juniper Networks	Juniper Networks
David Koenen	HP	HP
Gavin Parnaby	Solarflare	Solarflare
Robert Grow	Intel	Intel
Dan Dove	ProCurve	ProCurve
Velu Pillai	Broadcom	Broadcom
Kory Sefidvash	Broadcom	Broadcom
Peter Rautenberg	Nexans	Nexans

Meeting opened with introductions at 8:37 AM

Hugh Barrass "volunteered" to act as recording secretary.

Mike informed the attendees about the attendance recording mechanisms and briefly described the rules for voting membership.

Mike displayed the patent policy slides, reading aloud the highlights and guidelines and allowing time for the group to digest the information. There was no response from the members to the call for patents. These slides and other general information are included in Mike's presentation available on the website.

George Zimmerman indicated that SolarFlare will be sending a letter of assurance.

Mike discussed the agenda and presentation order and then the TF started to review presentations, for each one some of the flavor of the comments and discussion is also captured.

David Law presented on "Energy Efficient Ethernet Architecture" - law_01_1108.pdf

David highlighted some issues with EEE architecture and how it fits with the general 802.3 architecture. There were 4 options presented for architecture solutions that work within the current specification. It seemed that the group preferred option 2.

Straw poll #1

Prefer option #2 of law_01_1108.pdf as the low power idle architecture for 802.3az Energy Efficient Ethernet.

Y: 27, N 0, A 4

The second part of David's presentation covered 10BASE-T architecture issues. The discussion revolved around whether we should add support for system level LPI for 10BASE-T.

Straw poll #2

Do we want to support system energy saving for 10BASE-T with changes to the PHY specification?

Y: 0 N: 23 A: 3

Straw poll #3

Do we want to support system energy saving for 10BASE-T without changes to the PHY specification?

Y: 13 N: 3 A: 15

Motion #01 P: Hugh Barrass, S: Mike Grimwood - Minutes from last meeting approved by voice

Gavin Parnaby presented on 10GBASE-T EEE Synchronization - parnaby_01_1108.pdf

There was a question about issues with non-loop-timed systems. Gavin will consider this.

Dimitry Taich presented on Additional Test Modes for 10GBASE-T LPI - taich_01_1108.pdf

It was noted that an addition to the draft will need a comment. The PHY developers will get together & discuss.

Gary Nichol presented 100GE and 40GE PCS overview - nichol_01_1108

After a break for lunch, Sanjay started the comment resolution, the actions and decisions are recorded in the comment database.

Meeting recessed at 6:20 PM

11/12/08

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett	LBNL	LBNL
Michael Grimwood	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jim Graba	Broadcom	Broadcom
David Koenen	HP	HP
Bryan Dietz	Alcatel-Lucent	Alcatel-Lucent
Mandeep Chadha	Vitesse	Vitesse
John Louie	Broadcom	Broadcom
Joseph Chou	Realtek	Realtek
Satoshi Obara	Fujitsu	Fujitsu
Dimitry Taich	Teranetics	Teranetics
Jim Innis	Freescale	Freescale
Robert Busse	Transition Networks	Transition Networks
Ahmad Nouri	Broadcom	Broadcom
Akihiro Tsuji	Mitsubishi	Mitsubishi
Sean Lundy	Aquantia	Aquantia
Brad Booth	AMCC	AMCC
Velu Pillai	Broadcom	Broadcom
Kory Sefidvash	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeff Lapak	UNH-IOL	UNH-IOL
Paul Gyugyi	Google	Google
Terry Cobb	Commscope/Systimax	Commscope/Systimax
George Zimmerman	Solarflare	Solarflare
Dan Dove	ProCurve	ProCurve
Adam Healey	LSI	LSI
Sanjay Kasturia	Teranetics	Teranetics
Gavin Parnaby	Solarflare	Solarflare
Anthony Magee	ADVA	ADVA
Hugh Barrass	Cisco	Cisco

The meeting restarted at 9:00 AM and comment resolution continued.

After much comment resolution, Mike presented

Motion #2 The 802.3az Task Force will not pull TP-PMD into the standard.

P: Hugh Barrass S: Gavin Parnaby

Y: 20 N: 0 A: 5

Motion #3 The P802.3az Task Force authorizes the editors to reconcile terminology related to Energy Efficient Ethernet across different PHYs

P: Brian Dietz S: Brad Booth

Y:23 N: 0 A: 1

Motion #4 The P802.3az Task Force grants editorial license to the P802.3az editors to respond to unresolved editorial comments as they see fit.

P: Brad Booth S: Mandeep Chadha

Y: 23 N: 0 A: 1

The meeting recessed at 6:00 PM.

11/13/08

Meeting Attendees:

Name	Employer	Affiliation
Mike Bennett	LBNL	LBNL
Michael Grimwood	Broadcom	Broadcom
Joseph Chou	Realtek	Realtek
Hans Lackner	QoSCom	QoSCom
Jim Innis	Freescale	Freescale
John Louie	Broadcom	Broadcom
Kory Sefidvash	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeff Lapak	UNH-IOL	UNH-IOL
Joachim Walewski	Siemens	Siemens
Dan Dove	ProCurve	ProCurve
Adam Healey	LSI	LSI
Gavin Parnaby	Solarflare	Solarflare
George Zimmerman	Solarflare	Solarflare
Velu Pillai	Broadcom	Broadcom
David Koenen	HP	HP
Ahmad Nouri	Broadcom	Broadcom
Hugh Barrass	Cisco	Cisco
Bryan Dietz	Alcatel-Lucent	Alcatel-Lucent

Mandeep Chadha Vitesse Satoshi Obara Vitesse Fujitsu Fujitsu

Terry Cobb Commscope/Systimax Commscope/Systimax

Dimitry Taich Teranetics Teranetics Masaki Yamada Hitachi Hitachi Jim Graba Broadcom Broadcom Sanjay Kasturia **Teranetics Teranetics** David Law 3Com 3Com Wael Diab Broadcom Broadcom

The meeting started at 9:00 AM and continued with comment resolution.

Comment resolution finished at 9.45.

Motion #5 The P802.3az Task Force adopt option #2 in law_01_1108.pdf as the RX TX architecture for Energy Efficient Ethernet

P: Brian Dietz S: Hugh Barrass

Y: 18 N: 0 A: 0

Motion #6 Move that draft 1.0 plus the resolution of comments as recorded in 8023azd1p0.pdf and motions on draft 1.0 be used as the basis for the generation of draft 1.1

P: Wael Diab S: David Koenen

Y: 18 N: 0 A: 1

Mike asked if anyone else had motions to consider

Mike presented some schedule information and asked some attendance questions:

New attendees - 2, both planning to continue.

How many people are planning to go to January interim 13, unsure 2, not go 0

How many people are planning to go to March plenary 13, unsure 0, not go 0

Sanjay showed the TF review schedule as well as the 802.3ba schedule to avoid clashes.

TF review draft 1.1 will open 12/15, close 1/3.

Responses posted 1/9

Mike showed a liaison letter from TR42 and the group reviewed the reply (with some minor edits).

Motion to adjourn: P: Hugh Barrass S: Mandeep Chadha passed by voice.

Meeting adjourned at 10:51 AM