IEEE P802.3bf

Ethernet Support for the IEEE P802.1AS Time Synchronization Protocol Task Force Meeting Minutes 13 July 2010, San Diego, California

Acting Chair, Marek Hajduczenia (In Steve Carlson's absence) Recording Secretary, Arthur Marris

09:00 — Meeting called to order Round of introductions — by name, employer, and affiliation.

09:05 — Agenda and general information presentation by Marek Hajduczenia Appointed recording secretary (Arthur Marris)

09:10 — Patent policy was reviewed. Call for patents was made. No responses were received.

09:15 — Motion #1

- Move to approve minutes from 2010.05 interim meeting in Geneva, as posted at 3bf_1005_minutes_unapproved.pdf and post as 3bf_1005_minutes_approved.pdf, with the following changes:
 - Change text "Editor was chartered with development of draft D4.0" to read
 "Editor was chartered with development of draft D0.4"

Moved by: Marek Hajduczenia Seconded by: Arthur Marris Procedural, > 50% Motion approved by voice vote without opposition

09:20 — Motion #2

- Move to produce draft D2.0 from D1.0 as posted in the private area (802_3_bf_D1_0.pdf) with no changes to the technical content.
- Make an editorial change in the frontmatter, replacing the text "for Task Force review" to "for Working Group review"

Moved by: Marek Hajduczenia Seconded by: Pat Diamond Technical >= 75% Y: 7 N: 0 A: 0 Motion passes

09:20 —Work started on producing D2.0: Marek updated the front matter appropriately The task force reviewed the draft and agreed to also

- Arthur Marris submitted a comment from the floor: Correct the font size on the participants page (editorial comment)
- Pat Diamond submitted a comment from the floor: make 1.8000 register name consistent in the text by changing 'TimeSync capability' to 'TimeSync PHY capability' where needed in Clauses 30, 45 and 90 (technical comment)
- Pat Diamond submitted a comment from the floor: modify the caption for Figure 90-1 by changing 'TS client' to 'TimeSync Client' to align the name of the Time Synchronization Client across all instances in the draft (technical comment)

09:50 —Break for Marek to produce the final version of D2.0

10:00 —Meeting reconvened and Marek presented the final version of D2.0 with all implemented comments from the floor

10:05 — Motion #3

 Approve IEEE Draft P802.3bf/D2.0, as posted in the private area (802_3_bf_D2_0.pdf)

Moved by: Wael Diab Seconded by: Pat Diamond Technical >= 75% Y: 7 N: 0 A: 0 Motion passes

10:06 — Wael Diab presented an overview of the 802.3 working group ballot process (3bf_1007_wael_1.pdf as posted in the public area for the July meeting)

10:30 — Motion #4

- Request that the IEEE 802.3 Working Group
 - Submit IEEE Draft P802.3bf Draft 2.0 for a 35-day 802.3 Working Group ballot, and
 - Authorize the IEEE P802.3bf Task Force to respond to the 802.3 Working Group ballot comments and conduct recirculations as necessary

Moved by: Arthur Marris Seconded by: Wael Diab Technical >= 75% Y: 9 N: 0 A: 0 Motion passes

Straw poll #1

• I will attend the interim meeting of P802.3bf in Portland, OR, USA in 21-23 September 2010:

Yes: 3 No: 2 Not sure: 4

10:35 —drafted text for informal communication to ITU-T SG15 Q13

Motion #5

 Move to approve the informal communication to ITU-T SG15Q13 with editorial license to the TF Chair or his designated agent, as captured in '3bf_1007_informal_communication_to_SG15Q13.pdf'

Moved by: Pat Diamond Seconded by: Wael Diab

Procedural

Motion approved by voice vote without opposition

10:55 —

Motion #6

• Request the TF Chair or his designated agent, to provide a progress update on the status of the project to IEEE 802.1 WG and IEEE 802.1AVB TG.

Moved by: Wael Diab

Seconded by: Pat Diamond

Procedural

Motion approved by voice vote without opposition

10:57 – Motion to adjourn moved by Pat Diamond, seconded by Dimitrios Giannakopoulos. Motion approved by voice vote without opposition. No meetings on 14th and 15th July.

List of attendees

Name	Affiliation
Marek Hajduczenia	ZTE Corporation
Arthur Marris	Cadence
Dave Estes	UNH-IOL
Michael Ouellette	Huawei
Dimitrios Giannakopoulos	Applied Micro
Masaki Yamada	Hitachi
Hans Weibel	Zurich University of Applied Science

Pat Diamond	Semtech
Siddharth Sheth	Netlogic Micro
Wael Diab	Broadcom