# IEEE P802.3bk Extended EPON Task Force Minutes

### Thursday 5/17

9:00 AM- Chair opened the Meeting Working Secretary assigned (Duane Remein)

Appointment and affirmation of the IEEE P802.3bk Task Force Chair:

David Law Appointed Marek Hajduczenia as Chair of the Task Force.

#### Motion #1

Move that Marek Hajduczenia be affirmed as Chair of the Task Force

First: Duane Remein
Second: Randy Perrie
For 13
Against 0
Abstain 0

Motion passes

The TF Chair went over Opening material

Held introductions reviewed TF decorum, attendance, etc.

Announced the Private Area Web site (http://www.ieee802.org/3/bk/private/index.html)

**Reviewed Patent Policy** 

9:20 AM The Chair made the Call for Patents; no response was received.

Briefly discussed time line; the Chair expects to complete in the Jul 2013 time frame.

#### Motion #2

Approve minutes of March 2012 meeting as recorded in ExEPON\_1203\_minutes\_unapproved.pdf and post them online as ExEPON\_1203\_minutes\_approved.pdf

Moved by: Randy Perrie Seconded by: Wen Li

Procedural motion (>50%)

Motion passed by voice without opposition

#### Motion #3

Approve agenda for 2012 May meeting of Extended EPON Task Force, as shown in 8023bk\_1205\_opening.pdf, slide 25

Moved by: Duane Remein Seconded by: Ed Mallette

Procedural motion (>50%)

Motion passed by voice without opposition

9:30 AM The Chair solicited a volunteer to drive the ODN ad-hoc.

9:31 AM "Extended EPON PMD Specifications" presented by Wen Li of Finisar Corp.
This document suggested text and tables specifying a PX-30, PX-40, PRX-40 and PR-40 PMDs.
It was suggested that tables 4&5 allow an overload condition and minimum insertion loss should be -15 dB. It was also suggested that PX40-U receiver (-30 dBm sensitivity) be constructed with a PIN and "super TIA" rather than APD. The +10 dBm (as opposed to 15 dBm) Average Launch power for a DFB in PR40-U was questioned and it was suggested that the OLT receiver (-29 dBm Receiver sensitivity) be increased instead. However this trade-off was not agreed.

10:10 Break

10:20 AM "Analysis of the extreme overload scenarios for PMDs" presented by Xifang Zhang of ZTE Analyzed various mixes of 20/30/40 class PMDs in and ODN with 24dB (existing) and 29dB (extended section) loss sections. Concluded in the scenarios analyzed that no damage would occur but some misconfigurations would not function reliably (expected). Did not analyze any cases where ODN was at or near minimum loss budget.

10:35 AM "Power Budget Extender For EPON" presented by Xifang Zhang of ZTE Reviewed various solutions for creating an active power budget extender including optical amplifiers (including distributed Raman amplifier), OEO and hybrid architectures. Concluded that a hybrid SOA/OEO extender was the best choice for 10G-EPON and coexistence. There were some questions about comparison to remote OLTs, cost assessments, traffic condition at very high splits, and timing independence of "Frame Regeneration" OEO. It was noted that, if located in CO, the optimal solution maybe different than that in the conclusions.

11:20 AM <u>High-power Transmitter for 10G-EPON</u> presented by Wen Li of Finisar Examined various technologies for achieving high power lasers at 10G. Questions covered manufacturability maturity, and DML biasing (needs high driving power).

11:40 AM John DeAmbrosia made an announcement about Bandwidth Assessment ad hoc. Work is completed and a consensus building effort will begin (sponsored by Industry Connections forum) and John should be contacted if there is interest.

11:42 AM <u>Outline for D0.1 and work involved</u> presented by the Chair Outlined future process and suggested structure of draft. It was agreed that an Annex for the PBEx is not

required and the specifications for this application can be included in Cl 60 and Cl 75 for 1G and 10G extender PMDs respectively.

11:50 AM <u>A scrambling method for 10G Extended EPON upstream</u> presented by Akio. Tajima of NEC It was noted that, while the presentation was very interesting, modification of the PCS is outside the scope of the task force.

1:30 PM <u>Task Force Comment Tool Tutorial</u> presented by Wael Diab, Working Group Vise Chair Review of comment tool and proper commenting.

#### 2:15 Motion MADDNESS!

#### Motion #4

Adopt parameters for individual EPON PMDs, as shown in 8023bk\_1205\_li\_1b.pdf, as baseline for PX30, PX40, PRX40, and PR40 PMDs.

Moved by: Wen Li
Seconded by: Xifang Zhang
Yes: 14
No: 0
Abstain: 0

Technical motion (≥75%)

**Motion Passes** 

#### Straw Poll #1

I support adding specifications for Power Budget Extenders into the P802.3bk TF draft per existing optional objective

Yes: 3 No: 0

2:35 PM The Chair appointed Susumu Nishihara, from NTT Labs, as P802.3bk Task Force editor.

#### Motion #5

Move that Susumu Nishihara be affirmed as the P802.3bk Task Force editor.

Moved by: Alan Brown
Seconded by: Duane Remein
Procedural motion (>50%)

Motion passed by voice vote without opposition

#### Motion #6

Charter the project Editor with creating draft D1.0 by incorporating the adopted baseline proposals and start the Task Force review process.

Moved by: Ed Mallette
Seconded by: Duane Remein
Yes: 14

No: 0 Abstain: 0

Technical motion (≥75%)

Motion passes

Reviewed next meeting and agreed that D1.0 would be available June 4<sup>th</sup>, Comments due July 9<sup>th</sup>, in preparation for July 16<sup>th</sup> meeting.

#### Straw Poll #2

I will attend the July meeting.
I might attend the July meeting.
I might not attend the July meeting.
I might attend the July meeting.
0

#### Straw Poll #2

I will attend the P802.3bk July meeting.
 I might attend the P802.3bk July meeting.
 I might not attend the P802.3bk July meeting.
 I will not attend the P802.3bk July meeting.

#### Motion #

Move to adjourn.

Moved by: Duane Remein Seconded by: Xifang Zhang

Motion passed by voice without opposition.

3:10 PM Meeting Adjourned

## List of attendees 2012.05.17 (alphabetic)

Akio Tajima / NEC

Alan Brown / Aurora

Bill Powell / Alcatel Lucent

Dawid Law / HP

Dirk Breuer / Deutche Telecom

Duane Remein / Huawei

Dylan Ko / Qualcomm

Ed Mallette / Bright House Networks

Hesham ElBakoury / Huawei

Jim Goell / Nano Precision Products

Jun Sugawa / Hitachi

Marek Hajduczenia / ZTE

Randy Perrie / OneChip

Shugo Matsuda / Hitachi

Susumu Nishihara / NTT

Wael Diab / Broadcom

Wen Li / Finisar

Xifang Zhang / ZTE