Unapproved Minutes
IEEE 802.3bm 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic Task Force
Co-located Interim meeting
July 13-14, 2014
San Diego, CA

Prepared by: Kapil Shrikhande

July 13, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. on July 13. Kapil Shrikhande volunteered as Recording Secretary.

Round of introductions

All meeting materials for the July 2014 interim meeting can be found at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/index.html

Agenda and General Information presentation

By: Dan Dove, Chair

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/dove 01 0714 optx.pdf

The Chair asked if there was any opposition to approving the agenda for the meeting. The agenda was approved without any opposition.

The Chair asked if there was any opposition to approving the minutes from the May 2014 Task Force meeting. The May 2014 meeting minutes were approved without any opposition.

The Task Force decorum was presented.

The Task Force was reminded that photographs or recordings are not allowed without permission.

The Chair asked if there were any reporters present or if someone present might report on the activities of the meeting. There was no response.

The Chair read the IEEE patent policy. The Chair made a call for potentially essential patents. No one responded to the call for patents.

The rest of the agenda presentation was covered.

Start of technical presentations.

Presentation # 1

Title: MMF ad hoc report

By: Jonathan King, Finisar (MMF Ad Hoc Chair)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/king 01 0714 optx.pdf

Presentation # 2

Title: CAUI-4 ad hoc report

By: Ryan Latchman, MACOM (CAUI-4 Ad Hoc Chair)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/latchman 01 0714 optx.pdf

Presentation #3

Title: Editor's opening report

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena (Task Force Chief Editor)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/anslow 01 0714 optx.pdf

As per the agenda, Pete Anslow, Chief Editor led the Task Force through Comment Resolution.

The final responses to the comments will include the straw polls taken during comment resolution. Straw poll results are therefore not included in the meeting minutes. However, any Task Force motions required to resolve a comment will be captured in the minutes.

The final responses will be posted by the Chief Editor on the Task Force web-site at http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/comments/index.html

Presentation # 4

Title: 100GBASE-SR4: TxVEC Update Comment i-35

By: John Petrilla, Avago

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/petrilla 02 0714 optx.pdf

Presentation # 5

Title: Improved scope-based transmitter specification

By: Piers Dawe, Mellanox

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/dawe 01 0714 optx.pdf

The Editors pointed out to the Task Force that two contributions showing changes to Clause 95 to include TxVEC using each of the methods discussed in presentation #4 and #5 can be found on the July 2014 colocated interim meeting page. These are listed below:

Title: Changes to clause 95 to include TxVEC

By: Jonathan King, Finisar

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/king 02 0714 optx.pdf

Title: Changes to clause 95 to include TxVEC 'improved'

By: Jonathan King, Finisar

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/king_03_0714_optx.pdf

Meeting is recessed at 12 noon.

Reconvened at 1 p.m.

Presentation # 6

Title: 100GBASE-SR4: Effects of Instrument Noise Comments i-25, i-26, i-27 & i-28

By: John Petrilla, Avago

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/petrilla 01 0714 optx.pdf

Presentation #7

Title: Improved 100GBASE-SR4 transmitter limits and budget

By: Piers Dawe, Mellanox

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/dawe 03 0714.pdf

All comments to clause 95 have been addressed by the Task Force.

Presentation # 8

Title: CAUI-4 C2C transmitter equalization, feedback, and MDIO control (In support of comment #i-9)

By: Adee Ran, Intel

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/ran_01_0714_optx.pdf

The following contribution showing changes to Clause 45 due to comment i-9 was shown to the Task Force during the above presentation.

Title: Changes to Clause 45 due to comment i-9

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/anslow 02 0714 optx.pdf

Meeting recessed at 7 p.m.

July 14, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 8:00 a.m. on July 14. Pete Anslow, Chief Editor covered the IEEE patent policy. The Call for Essential Patents was made. There was no response.

Comment resolution is resumed.

Presentation #9

Title: CAUI4 Channel Loss Variation Due to Temperature

By: Pirooz Tooyserkani, Cisco

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/tooyserkani_01_0714_optx.pdf

Presentation # 10

Title: Chip-to-module CAUI-4 CTLE peaking tolerancing

By: Piers Dawe, Mellanox

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/dawe 02 0714 optx.pdf

Presentation # 11

Title: Clause 83E Module Stressed input signal generation (Comment i-101)

By: Mike Dudek, QLogic

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/jul14/interim/dudek 01 0714 optx.pdf

All comments that were not in the bucket motion of slide 13 of anslow_01_0714_optx.pdf were addressed by the Task Force. The Chief Editor announced that the remaining comments can be addressed during the following 802.3bm plenary meeting.

The agenda of the co-located interim having been completed, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:45 a.m.

IEEE 802.3bm July 2014 co-located interim meeting attendance from the sign-up sheet

Last Name	First Name	Employer	Affiliation	13-Jul	14-Jul
Abbott	John	Corning Inc			Υ
Amexcua	Adrian	Paysmian			Υ
Anslow	Pete	Ciena		Υ	Υ
Brooks	Paul	JDSU			Υ
Calderon	Juan-Carlos	Cortina			Υ
Dawe	Piers	Mellanox		Υ	Υ
Decker	Patrick	Oracle		Υ	Υ
Dove	Dan	Dove Networking Solutions	Huawei	Υ	Υ
Dudek	Mike	Qlogic		Υ	Υ
Filip	Jan	Maxim Int. Prod			Υ
Goell	Jim	Nano Precision Products		Υ	Υ
Gustlin	Mark	Xilinx		Υ	Υ
Irwin	Scott	Mosys		Υ	Υ
Kawatsu	Yasuaki	Hitachi Metals			Υ
King	Jonathan	Finisar		Υ	Υ
Kolesar	Paul	Commscope		Υ	
Latchman	Ryan	MACOM		Υ	Υ
LeCheminant	Greg	Agilent Technologies			Υ
Lewis	Dave	JDSU		Υ	Υ
Li	Shaohua	Brocade			Υ
Lin	Roger	Mediatek		Υ	
Maki	Jeffery	Juniper		Υ	Υ
McDermott	Tom	Fujitsu Labs			Υ
Nobuhiko	Kikuchi	Hitachi Ltd			Υ
Palkert	Tom	Molex, Luxtera			Υ
Pepeljugoski	Petar	IBM		Υ	Υ
Petrilla	John	Avago Technologies		Υ	Υ
Rabinovich	Rick	Alcatel Lucent		Υ	Υ
Ran	Adee	Intel		Υ	
Ressl	Michael	Hitachi Cable America			Υ
Shrikhande	Kapil	Dell		Υ	Y
Song	Xiaolu	Huawei		Y	'
Stassar	Peter	Huawei		Y	Υ
Szeto	William	Xtera		Y	'

Takahata	Kiyoto	NTT	Υ	
Tomoo	Takahara	Fujitsu Lab	Υ	
Tooyserkani	Pirooz	Cisco	Υ	Υ
Tracy	Nathan	TE Connectivity	Υ	
Trowbridge	Steve	Alcatel Lucent	Υ	Υ
Tseng	Wen-Cheng	Mediatek	Υ	
		Mellanox		
Werteim	Oded	Technologies	Υ	

Number of attendees who signed the sheet = 41