Unapproved Minutes
IEEE 802.3bm 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic Task Force
Interim meeting
May 14, 2014
Norfolk, VA

Prepared by: Kapil Shrikhande

May 14, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. on May 14. Kapil Shrikhande volunteered as Recording Secretary.

Round of introductions

All meeting materials for the May 2014 interim meeting can be found at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/index.html

Agenda and General Information presentation

By: Dan Dove, Chair

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/dove 01 0514 optx.pdf

The Chair asked if there was any opposition to approving the agenda for the meeting. The agenda was approved without any opposition.

The Chair asked if there was any opposition to approving the minutes from the March 2014 Task Force meeting. The March 2014 meeting minutes were approved without any opposition.

The Task Force decorum was presented.

The Task Force was reminded that photographs or recordings are not allowed without permission.

The Chair asked if there were any reporters present or if someone present might report on the activities of the meeting. There was no response.

The Chair read the IEEE patent policy. The Chair made a call for potentially essential patents. No one responded to the call for patents.

The rest of the agenda presentation was covered.

Start of technical presentations.

Presentation # 1

Title: MMF ad hoc report

By: Jonathan King, Finisar (MMF Ad Hoc Chair)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/king 01 0514 optx.pdf

Presentation # 2

Title: CAUI-4 ad hoc report

By: Ryan Latchman, MACOM (CAUI-4 Ad Hoc Chair)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/latchman 01 0514 optx.pdf

Presentation #3

Title: Editor's opening report

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena (Task Force Chief Editor)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/anslow 01 0514 optx.pdf

As per the agenda, Pete Anslow, Chief Editor led the Task Force through Comment Resolution.

The final responses to the comments will include the straw polls taken during comment resolution. Straw poll results are therefore not included in the meeting minutes. However, any Task Force motions required to resolve a comment will be captured in the minutes.

The final responses will be posted by the Chief Editor on the Task Force web-site at http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/comments/index.html

Comment resolution completed at 1:48 p.m.

Motion #1

Move to:

Add the following text to the IEEE P802.3bm Standard within the front matter.

'This standard is dedicated to the memory of our friend and colleague Brian J. Misek.'

Moved: Charles Moore Seconded: Dan Dove

Procedural (> 50% required)

Voice Vote Results: Unanimous Approval

Motion passes by voice vote

Motion # 2

Move to:

Approve Informal Communication to INCITS T11 as produced in file

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/king 02 0514 optx.pdf and create a final document

named ic_T11_0514_optx.pdf

Moved: Jonathan King Seconded: Mike Li

Procedural (> 50% required)

Voice Vote Results: Unanimous Approval

Motion passes by voice vote

Motion #3

Move to:

IEEE P802.3bm reaffirms the readiness of our draft document to proceed to Sponsor Ballot.

M: Pete Anslow S: Peter Stassar Technical (>= 75%) Y: 33 N: 0 A: 0

Result: Motion Passes

The Chief Editor presented his Closing Report.

Presentation #4:

Title: Editor's Closing Report

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena (P802.3bm Chief Editor)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/anslow 02 0514 optx.pdf

The following presentation was requested after the deadline. The Chair asked if there is any opposition to the presentation being heard. There was no opposition.

Presentation #5:

Title: Optical Fiber Cable Design & Reliability

By: Patrick Van Vinkle, Sumitomo Electric Lightwave

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/may14/vanvickle 01 0514 optx.pdf

The Chair announced that the agenda for the meeting is complete.

The meeting was adjourned at 3 p.m.

IEEE 802.3bm May 2014 interim meeting attendance from the sign-up sheet

Last Name	First Name	Employer	Affiliation	14-May
Abbott	John	Corning Inc		Υ
Anslow	Pete	Ciena		Υ
Booth	Brad	Microsoft		Υ
Bouda	Martin	Fujitsu		Υ
Brown	Dave	Semtech		Υ
Brown	Matt	Applied Micro		Υ
Choudhury	Mabud	Commscope		Υ
Conroy	Keith	Multi-Phy		Υ
Dawe	Piers	Mellanox		Υ
Dove	Dan	Dove Networking	Huawei	Υ
Dudek	Mike	Qlogic		Υ
Furlong	Mike	Clariphy		Υ
		NanoPrecision		
Glista	Drew	Products		Υ
Gong	Zhigang	O-Net		Υ
Gustlin	Mark	Xilinx		Υ
Healey	Adam	Avago Technologies		Υ
Hirai	Riu	Hitachi		Υ
Jewell	Jack	Independent	Commscope	Υ
King	Jonathan	Finisar		Υ
Klempn	Mike	VNH FOL		Υ
Kolesar	Paul	Commscope		Υ
Latchman	Ryan	MACOM		Υ
Li	Mike	Altera		Υ
Li	Shaohua	Brocade		Υ
Maki	Jeffery	Juniper		Υ
Man	Jianwei	Huawei		Υ
Marris	Arthur	Cadence Design		Υ
McDermott	Tom	Fujitsu Labs		Υ
McDonough	John	NEC America		Υ
Melitz	Rich	Intel		Υ
Moore	Charles	Avago		Υ
Muir	Ron	JAE		Υ
Ofelt	David	Juniper		Υ
Palkert	Tom	Molex, Luxtera		Υ
Patel	Pravin	IBM		Υ
Petrilla	John	Avago Technologies		Υ
Rabinovich	Rick	Alcatel Lucent		Υ
Rao	Ram	Oclaro		Υ
Rotolo	Salvatore	ST Microelectronics		Υ
Sambasivan	Sam	AT&T		Υ

Shrikhande	Kapil	Dell	Υ
Slavick	Jeff	Avago	Υ
Sommers	Scott	Molex	Υ
Sone	Yoshiaki	NTT	Υ
Song	Xiaolu	Huawei	Υ
Stassar	Peter	Huawei	Υ
Takahata	Kiyoto	NTT	Υ
Takai	Ptsushi	Oclaro	Υ
Takatoni	Hiroshi	Huawei	Υ
Teipen	Brian	ADVA Optical	Υ
Tooyserkani	Pirooz	Cisco	Υ
Tracy	Nathan	TE Connectivity	Υ
Tremblay	Francois	Semtech	Υ
Trowbridge	Steve	Alcatel Lucent	Υ
Ulrichs	Ed	Sourcephotonics	Υ
Vanvickle	Patrick	Sumitomo	Υ
Zivny	Pavel	Tektronix	Υ

attendees who signed the sheet = 55