Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 2 Apr 2013

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:00 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 5 March 2013 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 2 April. There were no objections.

Presentation #1

Title: 100G Parallel SMF Skew

- By: John Petrilla, Avago
- See petrilla_01_0413_smf

During the presentation of petrilla_01_0413_smf, several typographical errors were pointed out, so a revised version (petrilla_01a_0413_smf) will be posted after the meeting.

Presentation #2

Title: 100Gb/s SMF PMDs

By: Chris Cole, Finisar

See cole_01_0413_smf

During the presentation of cole_01_0413_smf, it was questioned whether slides 9 and 10 were within the IEEE guidelines for the discussion of cost because of the mention of "System OEM Module costs". After the meeting an updated version of the presentation was posted as cole_01a_0413_smf.

The meeting closed at 9:47 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Jon Anderson, Oclaro Pete Anslow, Ciena Vipul Bhatt, Cisco Derek Cassidy, BT Chris Cole, Finisar Piers Dawe, IPtronics Stephen Docking, PMC-Sierra Mike Dudek, Qlogic Arash Farhood, Cortina Galen Fromm, Cray Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom Douglas Gill, IBM Eric Hall, Aurrion Jack Jewell, GreenVcsel Cui Kai, Huawei Scott Kipp, Brocade Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric Paul Kolesar, Commscope Sharon Lutz, US Conec

Andy Moorwood, Infinera Dale Murray, LightCounting Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex Randy Perrie, OneChip Photonics John Petrilla, Avago Technologies Rick Pimpinella, Panduit Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei Dan Sparacin, Aurrion Peter Stassar, Huawei Andre Szczepanek, Inphi Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu Brian Teipen, Adva Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity Matt Traverso, Cisco Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics Yu Xu, Huawei Li Zeng, Huawei Wissen Zhang, OneChip Photonics