# Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 30 Apr 2013

# Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:00 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 23 April 2013 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 30 April and explained that most of the available time would be split between the first three presentations. There were no objections.

## Presentation #1

Title: Towards Consensus 100GBASE-CWDM Baseline Proposal

By: Yurii Vlasov, IBM See vlasov 01 0413 smf

During the presentation of vlasov\_01\_0413\_smf, two typographical errors were noted. These were expected to be corrected in a revised version vlasov\_01a\_0413\_smf.

# Presentation #2

Title: Link Cost Analyses: PSM4, LR4, and SR10

By: Brian Welch, Luxtera See welch\_02\_0413\_smf

During the presentation of welch\_02\_0413\_smf, Brian was asked what the expected timeframe for the cost projections was. He responded that it was about 2015.

## Presentation #3

Title: Optical Connection Specs for PSM4

By: Paul Kolesar, CommScope See kolesar\_01\_0413\_smf

## Presentation #4

Title: 100GBASE-ER4-lite PMD Status & Next Steps

By: Chris Cole, Finisar See cole 04 0413 smf

The meeting closed at 10:04 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list + Jonathan King and Derek Cassidy)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Jon Anderson, Oclaro

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Liang Qiu, Source Photonics

Chris Bergey, Luxtera

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Derek Cassidy, BT

Richard Richard, TE Connectivity

Wheling Cheng, Juniper Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei Chris Cole, Finisar Kapil Shrikhande, Dell

Stephen Docking, PMC-Sierra Jeff Slavick, Avago Technologies

Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Galen Fromm, Cray

Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom

Douglas Gill, IBM

Hideki Isono, Fujitsu

Dan Sparacin, Aurrion

Peter Stassar, Huawei

Steve Swanson, Corning

Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu

Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu

Jack Jewell, GreenVcsel Katsuhisa Tawa, Sumitomo Electric Myles Kimmitt, Emulex Brian Teipen, Adva

Jonathan King, Finisar Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity

Scott Kipp, Brocade Alan Ugolini, US Conec

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics

Paul Kolesar, Commscope Yurii Vlasov, IBM
Mike Li, Altera Brian Welch, Luxtera

Sharon Lutz, US Conec CK Wong, FCI
Arlon Martin, Kotura Li Zeng, Huawei

Dale Murray, LightCounting Wissen Zhang, OneChip Photonics

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex Xueyan Zheng, Huawei

Randy Perrie, OneChip Photonics