Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 9 Apr 2013

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:01 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 2 April 2013 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 9 April. There were no objections.

Presentation #1

Title: 100Gb/s SMF PMDs By: Chris Cole, Finisar See cole_02a_0413_smf

During the presentation of cole_02a_0413_smf, Paul Kolesar stated his opinion that 150 m would be a more appropriate fiber distance to compare PSM4 with LR4. It was also suggested that it might be instructive to analyse the cost increase that would result from adding a thermo-electric cooler to 40GBASE-LR4 modules built using current technology since 40G module cost is seen as a good indicator for the long term asymptote for 100G modules.

Pete reiterated the need for further consensus building before the Victoria meeting when the Task Force is scheduled to begin review of a draft.

Dan Dove (P802.3bm 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF Chair) stated his intention to generate a presentation for a future meeting on the topic of criteria for whether the Task Force should generate an additional SMF PMD or not.

The meeting closed at 8:50 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list + Jonathan King and Tom Palkert)

Pete Anslow, Ciena Frank Chang, Vitesse Chris Cole, Finisar Piers Dawe, IPtronics

Stephen Docking, PMC-Sierra Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Mike Dudek, Qlogic Galen Fromm, Cray Cui Kai, Huawei

Myles Kimmitt, Emulex Jonathan King, Finisar

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric

Paul Kolesar, Commscope
Greg D Le Cheminant, Agilent
Tom Mitcheltree, US Conec
Andy Moorwood, Infinera
Dale Murray, LightCounting

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex

Carl Paquet, Teraxion

Randy Perrie, OneChip Photonics John Petrilla, Avago Technologies Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei

Jeff Slavick, Avago Technologies

Matt St. Peter, RadiSys Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu

Katsuhisa Tawa, Sumitomo Electric

Brian Teipen, Adva

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics

Brian Welch, Luxtera

Li Zeng, Huawei

Wissen Zhang, OneChip Photonics

Xueyan Zheng, Huawei