## Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 4 Dec 2012

## Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:02 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 30 October call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 4 December. There were no objections.

## Presentation #1

Title: 100G PSM4 Link Model Results Comparison

By: John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

See petrilla\_01\_1212\_smf

Most of the discussion of petrilla\_01\_1212\_smf concerned the penalty due to reflections. This was shown as causing about 1 dB of penalty on page 9 due to the 12 dB Tx and Rx reflectances. Concerns were raised that this may not represent the worst case penalty due to the use of a Reflection Noise Factor in the spreadsheet of 0.6, and that the worst case penalty could be large enough to prevent acceptable link operation.

The meeting closed at 09:04 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Pete Anslow, Ciena Mike Dudek, Qlogic
Dave Brown, Semtech Arash Farhood, Cortina
Derek Cassidy, BT Galen Fromm, Cray
Stephen Docking, PMC-Sierra Hiroshi Hamano, Fujitsu
Dan Dove, Applied Micro Jack Jewell, GreenVcsel

Jonathan King, Finisar
Paul Kolesar, Commscope
Robert Lingle, Jr., OFS
Sharon Lutz, US Conec
Dale Murray, Lightcounting
Gary Nicholl, Cisco
Carl Paquet, Teraxion
John Petrilla, Avago Technologies
Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent
Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Kapil Shrikhande, Dell
Ted Sprague, Infinera
Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu
Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu
Katsuhisa Tawa, Sumitomo Electric
Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics
Alexander Umnov, Huawei
Brian Welch, Luxtera
zengli, Huawei