Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 5 Feb 2013

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:00 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 8 January 2013 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 5 February. There were no objections.

Presentation #1

Title: SMF Straw Polls

By: Dan Dove, AppliedMicro See dove_01_0213_smf

During the discussion of dove_01_0213_smf Dan was asked how the percentages on his charts were calculated. He responded that the denominator for the calculation was the room count.

Pete reminded the group that a consensus view as to how to satisfy the 500m SMF objective will be required very soon if the adopted Task Force timeline is going to be met.

Pete offered future SMF Ad Hoc call opportunities of 12 Feb, 19 Feb and 5 Mar. It was agreed that in view of the desire for further SMF meetings expressed in the straw polls in Phoenix, he would set up meetings for all three opportunities and cancel them if no presentations are requested.

The meeting closed at 09:06 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Jon Anderson, Oclaro Sean Anderson, Cisco Pete Anslow, Ciena Murat Arabaci, Juniper Vipul Bhatt, Cisco

Hsu-Feng Chou, Source Photonics

Piers Dawe, IPtronics

Stephen Docking, PMC-Sierra Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Mike Dudek, Qlogic Jan Filip, Maxim Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom Douglas Gill, IBM

Paul Goldgeier, ColorChip

Mark Gustlin, Xilinx Eric Hall, Aurrion Hiro Iwadate, SEI Cui Kai, Huawei

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric

David Law, HP

Jeffery Maki, Juniper

Dale Murray, LightCounting

Torben Nielsen, Acacia Communications

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex Randy Perrie, OneChip Photonics John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit Liang Qiu, Source Photonics Sam Sambasiavn, AT&T Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei Kapil Shrikhande, Dell

Jeff Slavick, Avago Technologies

Dan Sparacin, Aurrion
Peter Stassar, Huawei
Norm Swenson, ClariPhy
Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu
Pirooz Tooyserkani, Cisco

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics

Yurii Vlasov, IBM

Tim Warland, Applied Micro

Brian Welch, Luxtera

Yu Xu, Huawei Li Zeng, Huawei

Wissen Zhang, OneChip Photonics