# Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 8 Jan 2013

# Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:03 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 18 December 2012 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 8 January. There were no objections.

### Presentation #1

Title: 100G-BASE-WDM4 optical budget constraints

By: Yurii Vlasov, IBM

See vlasov\_01a\_0113\_smf

# Presentation #2

Title: System vendor perspective to NG100GE SMF interface

By: Tek Ming Shen, Huawei See shen 01 0113 smf

During the discussion of shen\_01\_0113\_smf Paul Kolesar suggested that it would be better to compare the relative cost of single fiber and multi-fiber solutions using a reach that is representative of an "average" application (see kolesar\_01a\_0512\_optx).

Pete reminded the group that a consensus view as to how to satisfy the 500m SMF objective will be required very soon if the approved Task Force timeline is going to be met.

The meeting closed at 09:05 am Pacific.

# Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Jon Anderson, Oclaro Pete Anslow, Ciena Vipul Bhatt, Cisco David Chalupsky, Intel

Piers Dawe, IPtronics

Ran Ding,

Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Galen Fromm, Cray Moe Garcia, TI Douglas Gill, IBM Mark Gustlin, Xilinx Eric Hall, Aurrion

Hiroshi Hamano, Fujitsu

Hiro Iwadate, SEI Cui Kai, Huawei

Jonathan King, Finisar Scott Kipp, Brocade

Paul Kolesar, Commscope

Ryan Latchman, Mindspeed

Sharon Lutz, US Conec Marco Mazzini, Cisco Dale Murray, LightCounting

Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Masato Nishihara, Fujitsu

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex Randy Perrie, OneChip Photonics John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei Kapil Shrikhande, Dell Peter Stassar, Huawei Changzheng Su, Huawei Andre Szczepanek, Inphi Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu Brian Teipen, Adva

Vivek Telang, Broadcom

Yurii Vlasov, IBM

Andy Weirich, OneChip Photonics

Yu Xu, Huawei zengli, Huawei

Xueyan Zheng, Huawei