Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc

Teleconference 18 June 2013

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:01 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 11 June 2013 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the revised draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 18 June. There were no objections.

Presentation #1

Title: 40GBASE-ER4 proposed revision to receive power max spec

By: Jonathan King, Finisar See king_02_0613_smf

This was a revised version of the presentation from the call on 11 June. In response to questions, Jonathan said he will submit a comment proposing to make these changes.

Presentation #2

Title: SMF PMD naming

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena

See anslow 01 0613 smf

During the presentation, it was pointed out that D was another good possibility (for data centre or Roman numeral D (500)). As a consequence, a revised version of the presentation will be posted on the SMF Ad Hoc web page.

After the presentation, a straw poll was taken as to what letter was preferred by the participants. The result was:

D: 6 M: 7 V: 1

Presentation #3

Title: SMF Link Costs over Time

By: Brian Welch, Luxtera See welch_02_0613_smf

This was also a revised version of the presentation from the call on 11 June.

Pete reminded the group that there is one more normal SMF Ad Hoc slot on 26 June and, if necessary, another on 2 July which would have to be coordinated with the end of the SG15 Q6 meeting. He again urged the proponents of the various SMF proposals to make good use of the remaining SMF Ad Hoc opportunities since the meeting time in Geneva will have to be shared between presentations and comment resolution for D 1.0.

The meeting closed at 8:32 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Dave Brown, Semtech

Derek Cassidy, BT

Pete Anslow, Ciena

David Chalupsky, Intel

Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom

Mark Gustlin, Xilinx

Adam Healey, LSI Corporation

Hideki Isono, Fujitsu

Jonathan King, Finisar

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric

Richard Miller, TE Connectivity

Dale Murray, LightCounting

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex

John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Sam Sambasiavn, AT&T

Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei

Jeff Slavick, Avago Technologies

Dan Sparacin, Aurrion

Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu

Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu

Brian Teipen, Adva

Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Mike Tryson, TE Connectivity

Alan Ugolini, US Conec

Tim Warland, Applied Micro

Brian Welch, Luxtera

CK Wong, FCI

Yu Xu, Huawei