# Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 28 May 2013

# Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:01 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/smfadhoc/meetings/index.html

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 30 April 2013 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 28 May. There were no objections. As Jonathan King had not joined the call at this point, the second topic was discussed first.

### Presentation #1

Title: SMF Straw polls and motions

By: Pete Anslow, Ciena See anslow 01 0513 smf

After this presentation the way forward for the SMF objective was discussed.

### Presentation #2

Title: 40GBASE-ER4 proposed revision to receive power max spec

By: Jonathan King, Finisar See king\_01\_0513\_smf

In response to questions, Jonathan indicated that he intends to submit comments on this against P802.3bm D1.0 and that he would welcome data from other manufacturers on the overload performance of appropriate receivers.

As there was still meeting time available, the discussion then returned to the way forward for the SMF objective. Dan Dove stated that the Ethernet Alliance is looking at the possibility of sponsoring a survey on the willingness of Data Center operators to deploy

parallel SMF fiber. Pete urged the proponents of the various SMF proposals to make good use of the remaining SMF Ad Hoc opportunities since the meeting time in Geneva will have to be shared between presentations and comment resolution for D 1.0.

The meeting closed at 9:55 am Pacific.

## Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Pete Anslow, Ciena
Dave Brown, Semtech
Derek Cassidy, BT
Piers Dawe, IPtronics
Dan Dove, Applied Micro
Mike Dudek, Qlogic
Arash Farhood, Cortina
Galen Fromm, Cray
Hideki Isono, Fujitsu
Cui Kai, Huawei

Myles Kimmitt, Emulex Jonathan King, Finisar Scott Kipp, Brocade

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric

Paul Kolesar, Commscope Greg D Le Cheminant, Agilent

Mounir Meghelli, IBM Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex

Randy Perrie, OneChip Photonics John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

Sam Sambasiavn, AT&T
Kapil Shrikhande, Dell
Dan Sparacin, Aurrion
Ted Sprague, Infinera
Peter Stassar, Huawei
Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu

Katsuhisa Tawa, Sumitomo Electric

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity
Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Yurii Vlasov, IBM Brian Welch, Luxtera

Oded Wertheim, Mellanox

Li Zeng, Huawei

Xueyan Zheng, Huawei