Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 2nd May 2016

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:04 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so this agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 25th April 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

<u>Presentation #1</u> Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/02May_16/szczepanek_01_050216_elect.pdf</u>

Presentation #2

Title: Considerations for the CDAUI-8 chip-to-chip pmax/vf limitPresenter:Adam Healey, Broadcomhttp://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/02May_16/healey_01_050216 elect.pdf

Adam presented the changes made by 25G Ethernet, and presented COM results based on various Transmitter transition times. The presentation was generally well received.

After questions on Adams presentation finished Andre opened up discussion to any other business.

Mike Dudek raised the issue of DFE error propagation, and whether we really have the right reference receiver. He has nothing to present on this topic yet – it will probably not happen until WG ballot.

Andre indicated he would present a list of key issues for Draft 1.3 comment resolution at the next ad hoc meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 8:45 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andro Szczonanok	innhi
Andre Szczepanek	inphi Brazilia
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom
Rick Rabinovich	Ixia
will bliss	Broadcom
Andy Zambell	Amphenol
phong pham	usconec
Ali Ghiasi	Independent
Adam Healey	Broadcom
Adrian Butter	Global Foundries
Qing Xu	Belden
Mike Dudek	Qlogic
martin white	Cavium Networks
David Malicoat	HPE
Raj Hegde	Broadcom
Mike Li	Intel
Piers Dawe	Mellanox
Rita Horner	Synopsys
Tom Palkert	VISI
Rich Mellitz (Intel)	Intel
Tony Zortea	Multi-Phy
Wheling Cheng	Ericsson
John Dillard	Microsemi
david malicoat	HPE