Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 6th July 2017

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, HSZ Consulting Ltd

The meeting started at 10:10 am PFT chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre presented the IEEE participation Foil.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so this agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 15th May 2017 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda/Work items Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/06July_17/szczepanek_01_070617_elect.pdf</u>

The group discussed the test fixture return loss issue and the consensus was that the issue was best addressed by de-embedding. Andre proposed suitable text for inclusion in the comment responses

Presentation #2

Title: Making Jitter Specs CompatiblePresenter:Piers Dawe, Mellanoxhttp://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/06July17/dawe01070617elect.pdf

There was considerable discussion on this topic, it continued until 10 minutes before the official end of the ad hoc. There appears to be some merit in a 2nd order CDR Jitter slope at low frequencies – however this a DR4 (optics) spec not an electrical one.

<u>Presentation #3</u> Title: C2M Spec Consistency And Tolerancing Presenter: Piers Dawe, Mellanox <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/17_07/dawe_3bs_01_0717.pdf</u> This subject only had 10 minutes of official ad hoc time, during which Piers gave an overview of his results which did seem to indicate there was an issue.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 am Pacific.

Unofficial discussion, after the ad hoc, continued for another 80 minutes, however no consenus was reached on how to proceed.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek	HSZ Consulting
Anand Anandakumar	MaxLinear
Pete Anslow	Ciena
John D'Ambrosia	Futurewei (a subsidiary of Huawei)
Jaclyn Dang	Cisco
Piers Dawe	Mellanox
Mike Dudek	Cavium
John Ewen	Globalfoundries
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum LLC, Huawei
Adam Healey	Broadcom
Rajmohan Hegde	Broadcom
Yasuo Hidaka	Fujitsu
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight
Richard Mellitz	Samtec
Tom Mitcheltree	US Conec
Karl Muth	Rockley Photonics
Rick Rabinovich	Ixia
Alexander Rysin	Mellanox