Unapproved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 08 February 2015

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so these agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 1st February 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/08Feb 16/szczepanek 01 020816 elect.pdf

After the ad hoc opening business, John D'Ambrosia (P802.3bs chair) spoke up to inform every one of the heavy workload at the upcoming plenary – it will not be a light meeting that can be skipped!

Andre presented the results of the 120E Pattern generator characteristics table straw poll, discussion of comments raised by the straw poll, and what to do next. There was considerable discussion (~ 1hour) on how pattern generator jitter should be specified and the advantages and disadvantages of both methods.

Andre showed a list of "Issues deferred by comment resolution" highlighting CRU bandwidth as particularly important as there are a number of Magenta "10MHz" values in 120E.

It was pointed out that the next scheduled ad hoc meeting is a national holiday in the USA (presidents day), which would restrict participation. Andre stated that he would cancel the ad hoc if fewer than 2 presentation requests were made for the meeting.

The meeting closed at 9:25 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek Inphi

John D'Ambrosia FutureWei, Huawei Megha Shanbhag Tyco Electronics

Liav Ben-Artsi Marvell
Qing Xu Belden
Kenneth Jackson SEI
Bharat Tailor Semtech
Ben Smith Inphi
Davide Visani Marvell
Rick Rabinovich Ixia

martin white Cavium Networks

Chris Roth Molex
Peter Anslow Ciena
Kumaran Krishnasamy Broadcom
Randy k Rannow APIC
Ray Nering Cisco
Marco Mazzini Cisco

David Law HPE Rich Mellitz Intel **Broadcom** Adam Healey Broadcom Raj Hegde **ICRG Derek Cassidy** Piers Dawe Mellanox **David Malicoat** HPE Phil Sun Credo

Tom Palkert Independent
Rita Horner Synopsys
John Dillard MicroSemi

Tektronix

Nvidia

Galen Cray Mike Dudek Qlogic

Pavel Zivny

Hyun Choi

John Ewen Global Foundries Ali Ghiasi Independent