Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 13th June 2016

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:04 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so this agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 6th June 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/13June 16/szczepanek 01 061316 elect.pdf

Andre presented a slide showing two "editors's comments" he intended to enter against D1.4. Peter Anslow pointed out that the second item referenced the wrong sub-clause, and that it should reference 120D.3.1.1. Andre updated the slide accordingly.

Andre then presented again his slide listing "Areas for further work. On the first item related to Tcoils, Yasuo Hidaka indicated he had not yet had any response to his request for information at the last ad hoc. On the second item Peter Anslow pointed out that the Even/Odd jitter sub-clause in Annex 120E is redundant and should be removed before WG ballot. There was general agreement that this is the right thing to do, and Andre will enter a comment to remove it. On the third item related to removal of the Vertical Eye closure test, concern was expressed that more information needs to presented to justify its removal. In any case retaining the test is benign.

The meeting adjourned at 8:20 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek inphi Dell Vittal Balasubramani Pete Anslow Ciena Yasuo Hidaka Fujitsu Will Bliss Broadcom Raj Hegde Broadcom **Greg LeCheminant** KeySight Marco Mazzini Cisco Tom Palkert Visi

Ali Ghiasi Independent

Phil Sun Credo

Martin White Cavium Networks

Rick Rabinovich Ixia

Piers Dawe Mellanox Mike Li Intel

Adrian Butter Global Foundries

David malicoat HPE

Aanand Kumar Maxlinear
Galen Fromm Cray
Rich Mellitz Intel