Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 14 December 2015

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so these agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 7th December 2015 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/14Dec 15/szczepanek 01 121415 elect.pdf

Andre presented his CRU bandwidth Observations slides. A number of attendees made the comment that they needed to see data on jitter bandwidth for real sources to determine Tx CRU bandwidth rather than basing it on Rx capabilities.

Ali showed slides 4 & 5 from ghiasi_3bs_01b_0915.pdf, showing a Phase Noise Plot for a low cost oscillator, and the effects of Thermal, charge pump, VCO jitter against bandwidth. There was a question about why Charge Pump related jitter was shown as increasing with frequency.

Andre went through slides showing open items for the Ad Hoc. He indicated that Inphi would make a presentation on adding low frequency equalization to the reference CTLE at the next Ad-Hoc meeting, and would endeavour to get it posted to the Ad Hoc website early for the benefit of those attendees who would not be able to make the next meeting.

The meeting closed at 8:50 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek inphi
Paul Mooney spirent
will bliss broadcom

David Malicoat hpe
Randy k Rannow APIC
Mike Dudek qlogic
Tony Zortea multi-phy
Piers Dawe mellanox
Tom Palkert visi

Ali Ghiasi Independent

Pavel Zivny pavel.zivny@ieee.org

Raj Hegde broadcom
Adee Ran intel
Ed Frlan semtech
Peter Anslow ciena
Yasuo Hidaka fujitsu
Jeffery Maki juniper

Ken Ly ccly@cisco.com
John Ewen globalfoundries

Jeffery Maki juniper
Adam Healey avagotech
Adrian Butter globalfoundries
John Dillard microsemi
Flavio Marques furukawa
Ray Nering cisco

Galen Fromm galen@cray.com

Rich Mellitz intel

martin white caviumnetworks

Magesh Valliappan broadcom

Megha Shanbhag tyco electronics

Phil Sun marvell
Rick Rabinovich ixia
Upen Reddy cisco
Wheling Cheng ericsson