Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 20th February 2017

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:10 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre presented the IEEE participation Foil.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so this agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft minutes from the 6th February 2017 call. No one responded, so the minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/20Feb 17/szczepanek 01 022017 elect.pdf

Presentation #2

Title: Updated 50G PAM4 C2M Simulations
Presenter: Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/20Feb 17/ghiasi 01 022017 elect.pdf

Ali presented new simulations with results including the Yamaichi QSFP28 connector that has significantly lower crosstalk than the limits defined in Clause 92.

There was considerable debate on how to deal with the crosstalk discrepancy in the current C2M draft. Andre announced that he would hold a straw poll on the 3 options given in the summary slide of the presentation, and another option based on reducing both connector crosstalk and receiver VEO.

Andre announced that there would be an additional ad hoc meeting opportunity on the 6th of March. An updated webex invitation will be sent out.

The meeting adjourned at 9:40am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek Inphi Pete Anslow Ciena

Ali Ghiasi Independent

Megha Shanbhag TE

Piers Dawe Mellanox

John Ewen Global Foundries

Takishi Nish YEU

Aananda Kumar MaxLinear
Marco Mazzini Cisco
Tom Palkert VISI
Raymon Nering Cisco

Charles Moore Consulting

Samtec

Toshiaki Sakai Socionext Cisco Upen Kareti Rajmohan Hegde Broadcom Phil Sun Credo Mark Kimber Semtech Rajesh Radhamohan Maxlinear **Gary Nicholl** Cisco Will Bliss Broadcom Sam Sambasivan AT&T David Piehler Dell **David Malicoat** Dell James Fife etopus Gianpiero Bognanni Cisco

Richard Mellitz