Unapproved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 21 December 2015

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so these agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 14th December 2015 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/21Dec 15/szczepanek 01 122115 elect.pdf

Presentation #2

Title: CDAUI-8 Chip-to-Module (C2M): Reference RX Proposal

Presenter: Ben Smith, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/21Dec_15/smith_01_122115_elect.pdf

During discussion on the use of 1/2 dB CTLE steps the usefulness of some graphs of the peaking of margin versus CTLE step were requested. Ben said he could provide this additional information in a future call.

Presentation #3

Title: CDAUI-8 Module-to-Host transmitter specification proposal

Presenter: Raj Hegde, Broadcom

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/21Dec 15/hegde 01 122115 elect.pdf

Raj proposes adding a pre-cursor ISI component before the host reference receiver to emulate the need for a fixed TX-FIR in the module transmitter.

Presentation #4

Title: Improvements to CDAUI8 C2C TX specifications

Presenter: Magesh Valliappan, Broadcom

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/21Dec 15/valliappan 01 122115 elect.pdf

Presentation #5

Title: Calculating ES1 and ES2 using Least Squares Algorithm

Presenter: Magesh Valliappan, Broadcom

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/21Dec 15/valliappan 02 122115 elect.pdf

This was a reprise of the proposal first brought up at the 7th December Ad Hoc call, but with additional information requested on that call added.

Andre announced that based on the results of this meeting there was clear need for another Ad Hoc call before the January interim meeting, and he would schedule one for the 11th January at 8-10am Pacific.

The meeting closed at 8:40 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek inphi Upendranadh Kareti cisco **David Malicoat** hpe Ben Smith inphi broadcom Raj Hegde Piers Dawe mellanox Tony Zortea multi-phy Stephane Dallaire inphi **Peter Anslow** ciena Rich Mellitz (Intel) intel

Megha Shanbhag Tyco Electronics
Martin White Cavium networks

Adam Healey avago Gary Nicholl cisco Francois beauregard belden

John Ewen Global foundries

Marco Mazzini cisco Magesh Valliappan broadcom

Tomer Osi Leabasemiconductor

Jeffery Maki Juniper Derek Cassidy BT