Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 22 February 2015

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone that the comment period on D1.2 closes on Thursday 25th Feb.

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so this agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 8th February 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/22Feb 16/szczepanek 01 022216 elect.pdf

Andre presented on TBDs and magenta in D1.2 and how he would attempt to address them by entering comments. Mike Dudek asked where the transition time TBD was located. Andre said he would find the location and show it after Rai's presentation.

Presentation #12

Title: R_LM and SNDR proposal

Presenter: Rajmohan Hegde, Broadcom

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/22Feb_16/hegde_01_022216_elect.pdf

There was considerable discussion on how this related to the levels used in COM. There was however general agreement that this method was an improvement over the current method, and an comment to adopt it should be brought in

Andre presented the location of the transition time TBD in draft 1.2. After some discussion over the levels of frequency dependent attenuation after the pattern generator it was agreed that 9.5ps was a better value for the TBD than the 12ps proposed. Andre agreed to change his comment appropriately.

The meeting closed at 9:11 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek Inphi

Adam ???? MIT (Student ?)

Chris Roth Molex
Yasuo Hidaka Fujitsu
Rich Mellitz Intel
David Malicoat HPE

Tom Palkert Independent
Davide Visani Marvell
Rajmohan Hegde Broadcom
Randy k Rannow APIC
Rick Rabinovich Ixia

Adam Healey Broadcom

martin white Cavium Networks

David Law HPE
Matt Brown APM
Mike Dudek Qlogic
Rick Rabinovich Ixia
M.Bruccoleri ST

Ali Ghiasi Independent
Kumaran Krishnasamy Broadcom
Phil Sun Credo
Upen Reddy Kareti Cisco
Rita Horner Synopsys
Vittal Balasubraman Dell

Tony Zortea (MultiPhy) Multi-Phy
Piers Dawe Mellanox
John Dillard MicroSemi
Bharat Tailor Semtech

John Ewen Global Foundries PHLLIPE UNKNOWN

Peter Anslow Ciena Mike Li Altera