## Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 24<sup>th</sup> April 2017

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml">http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml</a>

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre presented the IEEE participation Foil.

Peter Anslow pointed out that slide presented was not the most up to date version of the template. Andre agreed to update it before the next meeting.

## Presentation #1

Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda

Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/24Apr 17/szczepanek 01 042417 elect.pdf

## Presentation #2

Title: Chip To Module Twin Axial Cable Channels For 400 Gb/s: Re-examining the Insertion

Loss Equation

Presenter: Richard Mellitz, Samtec

http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/24Apr 17/mellitz 01 042417 elect.pdf

There was much discussion about how to address this issue. In order to achieve consensus between the various options, Andre agreed to hold a straw poll via the P802.3bs reflector to determine a direction for the group.

Yasuo Hidake pointed out that there was an error in the return loss equation on page 13 of the presentation. Richard agreed to update the presentation, and Andre agreed to upload it to the webpage before the straw poll is held.

The meeting adjourned at 9:10am Pacific.

## Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek Inphi
Kumaran Krishnasamy Broadcom

Derek Cassidy

Adee Ran

Intel

Torsten Reuschel

TUHH

Aananda Kumar

Piers Dawe

Tim Warland

BT

TUHH

Maxlinear

Mellanox

Precise-ITC

Rick Rabinovich Ixia
Robert Sleigh Keysight
Raj Hegde Broadcom
Bill Kirkland Semtech
Peter Anslow Ciena

John Ewen Global Foundries

Stephen Didde Keysight
Mark Kimber Semtech
Ali Ghiasi Independent

Richard Mellitz Samtec Jaclyn Dang Cisco VISI Tom Palkert Mike Dudek Cavium Sam Sambasivan ATT-labs Yasuo Hidaka **Fujitsu** ΤE Megha Shanbhag Martin White Cavium

Charles Moore Consulting

Raymond Nering Cisco
Will Bliss Broadcom
Phil Sun Credo
Ed Frlan Semtech
Drew Guckenberger Luxtera