Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 24th October 2016

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:04 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so this agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Andre asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft minutes from the 17th October 2016 call. No one responded, so the minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

<u>Presentation #1</u> Title: Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/Agenda Presenter: Andre Szczepanek, Inphi <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/24Oct 16/szczepanek 01 102416 elect.pdf</u>

Presentation #2

Title: Comment #41: Effects of change from Np=13 to Np=200Presenter:Yasuo Hidaka, Fujitsuhttp://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/24Oct16/hidaka01102416elect.pdf

Yasuo gave an analysis of the effects of the change of Np to 200 on various parameters with varying Rd and Zc. Based on this analysis he recommended new values for Vf (max & min), and Linear fit pulse peak (min). Considerable discussion ensued. There was general agreement on the changes – if Np remains at 200. Mike Dudek has a comment on D2.1 to reverse the change in Np, and go back to a value of 13. There was discussion of this and alternative strategies.

The meeting adjourned at 9:35am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek	inphi
Bill Kirkland	Semtech
Yasuo Hidaka	Fujitsu
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom
Will Bliss	Broadcom
Ali Ghiasi	Independent
Raj Hegde	Broadcom
Raymond Nerring	Cisco
Peter Anslow	Ciena
Mike Dudek	Cavium
Richard Mellitz	Samtec
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext
Rick Rabinovich	Ixia
Nathan Tracy	TE
Phil Sun	Credo
James Fife	Etopus
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight
Ed Frlan	Semtech
Martin White	Cavium
Anand Anandakumar	MaxLinear
Steven Didde	Keysight
David Malicoat	HPE
Rita Horner	Synopsys
Sandra M	Unknown
Nichole McNeil	Unknown
Penny Slim	Unknown
Megha Shanbhag	TE