Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Electrical Ad Hoc Teleconference 30 November 2015

Minutes taken by Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Andre Szczepanek, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/index.shtml</u>

Andre reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

<u>Presentation #1</u> Title: CHANNEL OPERATING MARGIN (COM) PROPOSAL FOR CDAUI-8 C2C Presenter: Raj Hegde, Broadcom <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/30Nov_15/hegde_01_113015_elect.pdf</u>

Discussion on this proposal ran until 9am Pacific.

Presentation #2

Title:Electrical Interface Ad Hoc Opening/AgendaPresenter:Andre Szczepanek, Inphihttp://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/elect/30Nov 15/szczepanek_01_113015_elect.pdf

Andre presented the state of Annexes 120D & E in Draft 1.1 in relation to "TBD" and Magenta text. He also went through a list of issues where contributions or additional consensus had been requested in comment resolution, and other general open issues.

During discussion of Presentation #1 "ing thomas padja" interrupted to request time to discuss his thoughts on the use of FEC to increase link distance. Andre told him if time allowed he would be heard at the end of the meeting. There was time so Andre presented the Ad Hoc charter slide (again), to explain that FEC discussions were out of scope for the Ad hoc. Andre also explained that FEC strength, Baud rate, and latency were all factors in the trade-offs made to select the a common FEC for all of P802.3bs.

Andre reminded the meeting that there will be another SMF Ad Hoc meeting opportunity on Tuesday 15 December at 8:00 am Pacific.

The meeting closed at 9:50 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Andre Szczepanek	inphi
Rick Rabinovich	alcatel-lucent
Paul Mooney	spirent
Kenneth Jackson	sei-device
Peter Anslow	ciena
Raj Hegde	broadcom
Ben Smith	inphi
Yasuo Hidaka	fujitsu
Ed Frlan	semtech
Mike Dudek	qlogic
Adrian Butter	globalfoundries
Tomer Osi	leabasemiconductor
Ali Ghiasi	independent
Piers Dawe	mellanox
Rich Mellitz	intel
Rob Stone	broadcom
Stefan Wahl	ecix
Megha Shanbhag	tyco electronics
Flavio Marques	furukawa
John Ewen	Global foundries
Stephane Dallaire	inphi
Gary Nicholl	cisco
sam sambasivan	labs.att
Vittal Balasubramani	dell
	belden
Qing Xu Phil Sun	marvell
Carlo Tosetti	
David Malicoat	cisco
	hpe
Vasudevan Parthasarathy	broadcom
Wheling Cheng	ericsson
Rita Horner	synopsys
magesh valliappan	broadcom
Pirooz Tooyserkani	cisco
martin white	caviumnetworks
robert wang	intel
ing.tomas.pajda	independent
Tom Mitcheltree	unknown
Fred S. Tang	broadcom
Phil Sun	marvell
Safi ????	cisco
Rob Stone	broadcom
Ali Ghiasi	independent
Upen Reddy	cisco
Marco Mazzini	cisco

Tony Zortea Phil Sun multi-phy marvell