**Unapproved** minutes

IEEE P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Task Force Logic Ad Hoc

Teleconference April 23rd, 2014

Minutes taken by Mark Gustlin, Xilinx

The meeting started at 8:02 am Pacific chaired by Mark Gustlin, the attendee list was taken from the WebEx attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/logic/index.shtml

Mark reminded everyone of the IEEE meeting guidelines (https://development.standards.ieee.org/myproject/Public/mytools/mob/preparslides.pdf)

Mark showed the patent slides and asked if anyone wanted to disclose a patent, no one responded.

Presentation #1

Title: Update of Bit multiplexing in 400GbE PMA – Xinyuan Wang

By: Xinyuan Wang, Tongtong Wang, Wenbin Yang - Huawei

See: wang\_01\_0414\_logic.pdf

On slide 5 more details were asked for on the routing restrictions for the lanes.

The point was also made that if a lane budget is closed using FOM for 400GbE, then if 100GbE re-uses the same interface (electrical or optical), then you won't be able to close the budget for 100G.

Presentation #2

Evaluation of FEC Performance with Symbol and Bit muxing Scenarios

By: Xinyuan Wang, Tongtong Wang, Wenbin Yang - Huawei

See: wang\_02\_0414\_logic.pdf

On slide 11 it was pointed out that if an interface does not have correlated errors, then plain bit muxing can be appropriate.

On slide 12 there was a question about the BERin value, but at that point Tongtong had lost her connection and the question went unanswered.

Presentation #3

Title: Error performance objective for 400GbE

By: Steve Trowbridge - ALU

See: trowbridge\_01\_0414\_logic.pdf

On slide 8, there was a lot of discussion about how important/relevant the 4x100G question is for the 400G discussion.

John D'Ambrosia and David Law briefly discussed the PAR modification request that is ongoing for the project.

Attendees (taken from webex, please let me know if you have a correction):

Adam Healey, LSI Corporation

Adee Ran, Intel

Alan Ugolini, US Conec

Alex Umnov, Fujitsu

Ali Ghiasi, Independent

Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

Andy Moorwood, Infinera

Arlon Martin, Mellanox

Brian Teipen, Adva

Cedrik Begin, Cisco

Charlie Chen, Titan Photonics

Chris Cole, Finisar

Dan Dove, Applied Micro

Daniel Yang, Huawei

Dave Brown, Semtech

David Chalupsky, Intel

David Law, HP

David Ofelt, Juniper

Derek Cassidy, BT

Farzin Firoozmand,?

Fred Tang, Broadcom

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson

Hideki Isono, Fujitsu

HNL?, Spirent

Hugh Barrass, Cisco

Jeff H?, Ranovus

Jeff Slavick, Avago Technologies

Jeffery Maki, Juniper

Joel Goergen, Cisco

John D'Ambrosia, Dell

John Ewen, IBM

John Petrilla, Avago Technologies

Juan-Carlos Calderon, Cortina

Ky Piper, Cisco

Larry Tarof, Optelian

Marco Mazzini, Cisco

Mark Gravel, HP

Mark Gustlin, Xilinx

Mark Pilip, EZchip

Martin Bouda, Fujitsu

Martin Langhammer, Altera

Masashi Kono, Hitachi

Matt Brown, Applied Micro

Megha Shanbhag, TE

Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Michel Chouinard, Exfo

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Oded Wertheim, Mellanox

Paul Scheidt, Altera

Paul Mooney, Spirent

Pete Anslow, Ciena

Peter Stassar, Huawei

Pi Boson, ?

Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Pirooz Tooyserkani, Cisco

Radha Nagarajan, Inphi

Rajinder ?, Koolchip

Ram Rao,?

Rao ?, ?

Raymond Nering, Cisco

Rich Mellitz, Intel

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

Robert Coenen, Intel

Sam Sambasivan, AT&T

Sayano ?, Apichip

Scott Irwin, MoSys Inc

Scott Kipp, Brocade

Slobodan Milijevic, Microsemi

Sone Yoshiaki, NTT

Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Thananya Baldwin, Ixia

Tom Issenhuth, Microsoft

Tongtong Wang, Huawei

Vasu Parthasarathy, Broadcom

Wheling Cheng, Ericsson

Xihua Fu, ZTE Xinyuan Wang, Huawei