Approved minutes

IEEE P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet Task Force Logic Ad Hoc

Teleconference October 21st, 2014

Minutes taken by Mark Gustlin, Xilinx The meeting started at 8:02 am Pacific chaired by Mark Gustlin, the attendee list was taken from the WebEx attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/logic/index.shtml

Mark showed the patent link and asked if anyone had any questions, no one responded.

Presentation #1 Title: FEC Architecture - John D'Ambrosia et al.

See: damborisa\_01\_1014\_logic.pdf

Presentation #2

FEC Core Area Comparison and Model - Martin Langhammer

See: langhammer\_01\_1014\_logic.pdf

It was asked what the conversion between LUTs and Gates, asked to take that discussion offline. In the comparison of relative size between FEC options, some wanted to see the PCS/MAC and encoder also in the comparison.

Presentation #3 Title: FEC Considerations for 400GE and Beyond – Martin Langhammer See: langhammer\_02\_1014\_logic.pdf

Presentation #4 Title: FEC Structure for 400GbE – Zhongfeng Wang See: wangz\_01\_1014\_logic.pdf

Some discussion around the difference between what he is proposing and encapsulated FECs. The delta is in the synergy between the two it seems.

Was asked is this is only targeted towards PAM-4, yes.

Lot of discussion on exactly what is being proposed and what are the benefits.

Attendees (taken from webex, please let me know if you have a correction or additioin): Mark Gustlin, Xilinx Patrick Zabinski, Mayo Andre Szczepanek, Inphi Masashi Kono, Hitachi Paul Mooney, Spirent Ghani Abbas, Ericsson Tom McDermott, Fujitsu Martin Langhammer, Altera Tongtong Wang, Huawei Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent Daniel Koehler, MorethanIP Andy Moorwood, Infinera Juan-Carlos Calderon, Cortina Salvatore Rotolo, ST Microelectronics Mark Pilip, EZchip Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent Adee Ran, Intel John D'Ambrosia, Dell **Rita Horner**, Synopsys Piers Dawe, Mellanox Adam Healey, Avago Technologies Rich Mellitz, Intel Megha Shanbhag, TE Rob Stone, Broadcom Sam Sambasivan, AT&T Slobodan Milijevic, Microsemi Zhongfeng Wang, Broadcom Oded Wertheim, Mellanox Raymond Nering, Cisco Jeff Slavick, Avago Technologies Cedrik Begin, Cisco Vivek Telang, Broadcom Pirooz Tooyserkani, Cisco Dave Brown, Semtech Gary Nicholl, Cisco Paul Little, Fujitsu

Mile Radovanovic, Alcatel Lucent Brian Teipen, Adva David Ofelt, Juniper Tony Zortea, PMC-Sierra Skabe Itaru, Sumitomo Matt Brown, Applied Micro Xinyuan Wang, Huawei Dale Murray, LightCounting Ali Ghiasi, Independent David Law, HP Derek Cassidy, BT Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo Skabe Itaru, Sumitomo Pi Boson, ? Bill Wilkie, Xilinx John Ewen, IBM Mike Zhang, Siemon Paul Mooney, Spirent Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable