

20th June 2014

Approved minutes

recorded by jonathan king

400G MMF ad hoc meeting minutes, 20th June 2014

- Meeting started at 8 am Pacific, chaired by Jonathan King.
- Attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list, 39 attendees were noted.
- **Presentations** shared in the MMF ad hocs will be available on the MMF ad hoc web page.
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/mmf/index.shtml
- IEEE patent policy: Attendees were reminded of the IEEE patent policy.
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- **House keeping:** The agenda was approved.
- Presentation 1:

Title: MMF ad hoc role,

Presenter: Jonathan King, MMF ad hoc chair

See: king_01_0614_mmf

 Jonathan reminded the group of the MMF ad hoc charter, project objectives, and agreed project timeline, and invited people to bring in detailed proposals that address the 100 m MMF objective for review in the MMF ad hoc.

Presentation 2:

Title: Study of 400Gb/s MMF PMD options

Presenter: Jonathan King, Finisar, et al

See: king 02 0614 mmf

- Jonathan compared preliminary link budgets for VCSEL based MMF PMD options, including 25 Gb/s per laser NRZ, and 50 GB/s per laser NRZ and PAM4 modulation formats. Jonathan observed that the 50 Gb/s links would benefit from significantly stronger FEC, and would require significantly faster, or significantly lower RIN, VCSELs. A question of eye safety limits was raised as a possible issue for multiple wavelengths per fibre.
- Meeting ended at 9.30 am

Attendees

Pete Anslow, Ciena

Gurpreet Bhullar, Semtech

Martin Bouda, Fujitsu

Derek Cassidy, BT

David Chen, NSN

Sacha Corbeil, JDSU

Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Dan Dove, Dove Networking

Solutions/Huawei

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

John Ewen, IBM

Ali Ghiasi, independent

Steve Gorshe, PMCS

Adam Healey, Avago Tech

Jack Jewell, Commscope

Jonathan King, Finisar

Keisuke Kojima, Merl

Paul Kolesar, Commscope

Brett Lane, Panduit

Ryan Latchman, Macom

Robert Lingle, OFS

Mike Peng Li, Altera

Jeff Maki, Juniper

Richard Mellitz, Intel

Andy Moorwood, Infinera

Dale Murray, LightCounting

Raymond Nering, Intel

Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Vasu Parthasarathy, Broadcom

John Petrilla, Avago Tech

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

Mike Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Andre Szczepanek, Inphi

Milijevic Slobodan, Microsemi

Nish Takeshi, YEU

Fred Tang, Broadcom

Nathan Tracy, TE

Patrick Van Vickle, Sumitomo-Electric

Robert Wang, Vsemi

Tong Tong Wang, Huawei

Zhongfeng Wang, Broadcom