Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 19 June 2014

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 7:32 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 18 June. There were no objections.

Presentation #1

Title: 4x100Gb/s & 400Gb/s PMD Alternatives

Presenter: Chris Cole, Finisar See cole_01_0614_smf

During the presentation, it was pointed out that there were some incorrect values in the tables on pages 8 and 9. There was also some discussion regarding whether it is appropriate to budget for a 2 km reach for a parallel fibre solution and how the budgets might change for a duplex solution.

At approximately 8:20 am, Pete halted the discussion on cole 01 0614 smf to move to:

Presentation #2

Title: Considerations on duplex SMF PMDs for 400Gb/s Ethernet

Presenter: Peter Stassar, Huawei See stassar_01_0614_smf

During the presentation John D'Ambrosia pointed out that the currently adopted timeline shows the Task Force adopting baseline proposals by the January 2015 meeting.

As there was some time remaining and there was no objection, Chris Cole presented a revised version of pages 8 and 9 of his presentation. *This revised version was made available after the meeting via the SMF Ad Hoc web page as cole_01a_0614_smf.*

The meeting closed at 8:59 am Pacific

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson Pete Anslow, Ciena Vipul Bhatt, Inphi

William Bliss, Broadcom Martin Bouda, Fujitsu Derek Cassidy, BT Frank Chang, Inphi Chris Cole, Finisar

Sacha Corbeil, JDS Uniphase

John DAmbrosia, Dell Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Ian Dedic, Fujitsu Semiconductor

Elizabeth Donnay, Cisco Dan Dove, Huawei Mike Dudek, Qlogic Brian Eldridge, Cisco

Xihua Fu, ZTE

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC Steve Gorshe, PMC-Sierra

Eric Hall, Aurrion Adam Healey, Avago Riu Hirai, Hitachi

Kiyohisa Hiramoto, Oclaro Jeff Hutchins, Ranovus Hideki Isono, Fujitsu Tom Issenhuth, Microsoft

Jom Issennuth, Microsc Jonathan King, Finisar Scott Kipp, Brocade

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Paul Kolesar, CommScope David Lewis, JDS Uniphase

Mike Li, Altera

Ilya Lyubomirsky, Finisar Jeffery Maki, Juniper

Thomas McDermott, Fujitsu Andy Moorwood, Infinera Dale Murray, LightCounting

Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Takeshi Nishimura, Yamaichi Hirotaka Oomori, Sumitomo Tom Palkert, Luxtera-Molex Moon Park, OE Solutions

Vasu Parthasarathy, Broadcom

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics

Kapil Shrikhande, Dell Xiaolu Song, Huawei Dan Sparacin, Aurrion Peter Stassar, Huawei Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu Frederick Tang, Broadcom

Brian Teipen, Adva Alan Tipper, Semtech Pirooz Tooyserkani, Cisco Alexander Umnov, Fujitsu Tongtong Wang, Huawei Xinyuan Wang, Huawei

WInston Way, NeoPhotonics

Yu Xu, Huawei