## Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 5 August 2014

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 7:33 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml">http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml</a>

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 5 August. There were no objections.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 19 June call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

## Presentation #1

Title: SNR Penalties of SMF PMD Alternatives

Presenter: Chris Cole, Finisar See cole\_01\_0814\_smf

Prior to the presentation, Chris asked if there was any objection to showing a modified version of the presentation where the sign of the penalties is reversed. There was no objection. Also, during the presentation it was discovered that the 7 dB electrical penalty on page 6 had been included in the later analysis as an optical penalty. *Consequently, a revised version of the presentation was made available after the meeting via the SMF Ad Hoc web page as cole\_01a\_0814\_smf.* 

Pete reminded the group that a second SMF Ad Hoc opportunity was scheduled for Tuesday August 19th from 7:30am to 9am PDT and that in order to meet the adopted project timeline, the Task Force needs to start to reach some conclusions on SMF PMDs.

The meeting closed at 8:56 am Pacific.

## Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list + Kenneth Jackson)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson Pete Anslow, Ciena Vipul Bhatt, Inphi David Brown, Semtech

Frank Chang, Inphi
Chris Cole, Finisar
Piers Dawe, Mellanox
Elizabeth Donnay, Cisco

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

Adam Healey, Avago Riu Hirai, Hitachi Hideki Isono, Fujitsu

Tom Issenhuth, Microsoft Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo

Jonathan King, Finisar

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Paul Kolesar, CommScope Thomas McDermott, Fujitsu

Dale Murray, LightCounting

Ryan Latchman, MACOM

Raymond Nering, Cisco Gary Nicholl, Cisco R K Rannow, APIC Ram Rao, Oclaro

Sam Sambasivan, AT&T
Frederick Tang, Broadcom
Alan Tipper, Semtech
Pirooz Tooyserkani, Cisco
Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics
Alexander Umnov, Fujitsu

Robert Wang, Intel Xinyuan Wang, Huawei

WInston Way, NeoPhotonics

Brian Welch, Luxtera Yangjing Wen, Huawei