## Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 30 September 2014

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 7:30 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml">http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml</a>

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 30 September. There were no objections.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 19 August call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

## Presentation #1

Title: Updated Considerations on 400Gb/s Ethernet SMF PMDs

Presenter: Peter Stassar, Huawei See stassar\_01\_0914\_smf

Among other questions, Peter was asked whether the Mux & Demux loss of 2 dB was each or the combined loss. Peter responded that this was 2 dB for each. *A revised presentation clarifying this point was uploaded as stassar\_01a\_0914\_smf after the meeting.* 

## Presentation #2

Title: Optical Specifications of SMF PMDs Study

Presenter: Chris Cole, Finisar See cole\_01\_0914\_smf

During the presentation, there was some discussion on whether or not there is a penalty associated with peaking in PAM4 transmit eyes when not deliberately designing for Nyquist PAM4. Due to lack of time on the call, this discussion was continued afterwards via the Task Force e-mail reflector.

Pete reminded the group that in order to move the project forward, the Task Force needs to start to converge on consensus baseline proposals for the SMF PMDs.

The meeting closed at 9:00 am Pacific.

## Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Pete Anslow, Ciena Martin Bouda, Fujitsu Patricia Bower, Fujitsu David Brown, Semtech Adrian Butter, IBM Chris Cole, Finisar John DAmbrosia, Dell Piers Dawe, Mellanox Dan Dove, Huawei Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

Joel Goergen, Cisco Mark Gustlin, Xilinx Riu Hirai, Hitachi Hideki Isono, Fujitsu

Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo

Yi Jiang, Accelink

Martin Langhammer, Altera

David Law, HP

Greg LeCheminant, Keysight David Lewis, JDS Uniphase

Karen Liu, Kaiam

Mark Lutkowitz, fibeReality

Marco Mazzini, Cisco

Thomas McDermott, Fujitsu Dale Murray, LightCounting Raymond Nering, Cisco

Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Tom Palkert, Luxtera-Molex Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

R K Rannow, APIC

Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable Rakesh Sambaraju, Nexans Peter Stassar, Huawei Bharat Tailor, Gennum Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu Frederick Tang, Broadcom Alan Tipper, Semtech

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity

Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Winston Way, NeoPhotonics