## Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 9 December 2014

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 7:30 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml">http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml</a>

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 9 December. There were no objections.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 18 November call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title:SMF PMD MPI Penalty InvestigationPresenter:Chris Cole, Finisar, Paul Kolesar, Commscope, Vipul Bhatt, InPhiSeecole\_01\_1214\_smf

During the presentation it was noted that the reflectance of the transmitter and receiver may be different. It was also pointed out that MTTFPA is not the appropriate metric to use to describe link degradation due to MPI, and that frame loss ratio (FLR) would be a better metric.

John D'Ambrosia also reminded the group that the deadline for presentation requests for the January meeting is Thursday 2 January. There was some debate over the deadline for presentations to be submitted. John agreed to discuss this further on the e-mail reflector.

The meeting closed at 8:43 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson Pete Anslow, Ciena Tatiana Berdinskikh, Celestica Vipul Bhatt, Inphi William Bliss, Broadcom Martin Bouda, Fujitsu David Brown, Semtech Matthew Brown, Applied Micro (AMCC) Adrian Butter, IBM Chris Cole, Finisar John DAmbrosia, Dell Mike Dudek, Qlogic Chad Erven, Semtech Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo Yi Jiang, Accelink Jonathan King, Finisar Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Paul Kolesar, CommScope David Lewis, JDS Uniphase Karen Liu, Kaiam Jeffery Maki, Juniper Marco Mazzini, Cisco Thomas McDermott, Fujitsu Andy Moorwood, Ericsson Dale Murray, LightCounting Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Takeshi Nishimura, Yamaichi Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent R K Rannow, APIC Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics Itaru Sakabe, Sumitomo Omer Sella, Mellanox Peter Stassar, Huawei Steve Swanson, Corning Andre Szczepanek, Inphi Bharat Tailor, Gennum Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu Brian Teipen, Adva Alan Tipper, Semtech Carlo Tosetti, Cisco Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent Alexander Umnov, Fujitsu Xinyuan Wang, Huawei Brian Welch, Luxtera Yangjing Wen, Huawei Tony Zortea, PMC-Sierra