# Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 1 September 2015

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:03 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml

Pete reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so these agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

John D'Ambrosia noted that since there is a public holiday on Monday 7 September, he would be changing the presentation submittal date for the Bonita Springs meeting from Monday 7 to Tues 8 September.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 9 June call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

# Presentation #1

Title: List of required inputs for SMF Clauses 122 and 123

Presenter: Peter Stassar, Huawei See stassar\_01\_0915\_smf

During the presentation of stassar\_01\_0915\_smf, comments were made that "Receive power, each lane (OMAinner) (max)" should be "Receive power, each lane (OMAouter) (max)" as this parameter is more relevant for receiver overload.

### Presentation #2

Title: Transmitter and SRS test source metrics

Presenter: Jonathan King, Finisar See king\_01\_0915\_smf

# Presentation #3

Title: PRQS Test Patterns for PAM4
Presenter: Ilya Lyubomirsky, Finisar

See lyubomirsky\_01\_0915\_smf

## Presentation #4

Jim Nadolny, Samtec

Title: PRQS10 characteristics
Presenter: Pete Anslow, Ciena
See anslow\_01\_0915\_smf

The meeting closed at 9:45 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson Tom Palkert, Luxtera-Molex

Pete Anslow, Ciena Thang Pham, Finisar William Bliss, Broadcom Mark Pilip, Ezchip

Paul Brooks, Viavi Solutions Rick Pimpinella, Panduit
Adrian Butter, Globalfoundries Rick Rabinovich, ALE
Sacha Corbeil, Lumentum R K Rannow, APIC

John D'Ambrosia, Dell Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable

Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Mike Dudek, Qlogic

John Ewen, Globalfoundries

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

Peter Stassar, Huawei

Bharat Tailor, Gennum

Frederick Tang, Broadcom

Alan Tipper, Semtech

Adam Healey, Avago Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity

Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Jonathan King, Finisar Winston Way, NeoPhotonics

Ilya Lyubomirsky, Finisar Brian Welch, Luxtera Thomas McDermott, Fujitsu Pavel Zivny, Tektronix