# Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 1 December 2015

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:01 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml">http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml</a>

Pete reminded everyone of the updated IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. No one responded, so these agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 6 October 2015 call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

## Presentation #1

Title: PAM-N modulation penalty in pictures

Presenter: Jonathan King, Finisar See king\_01\_1215\_smf

#### Presentation #2

Title: PAM4 TDEC straw-man conceptual proposal

Presenter: Jonathan King, Finisar See king\_02\_1215\_smf

During and after the presentation of king\_02\_1215\_smf, there was a discussion about various aspects of the TDEC measurement. Jonathan captured the outcome of this in a revised version of the presentation posted as king\_02a\_1215\_smf after the meeting.

After Jonathan had to leave the meeting due to another commitment, there was some further discussion on the choice of pattern for the test. This has been captured with the addition of: "PRBS13Q is much less stressful than long periods of traffic or idle. A short stress pattern designed for PAM4 would be a much better choice."

Pete reminded the meeting that there will be another SMF Ad Hoc meeting opportunity on Tuesday 15 December at 8:00 am Pacific.

# The meeting closed at 9:46 am Pacific.

## Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson
Pete Anslow, Ciena
William Bliss, Broadcom
Wheling Cheng, Ericsson

John D'Ambrosia, Independent

Piers Dawe, Mellanox John Dillard, Microsemi Mike Dudek, Qlogic

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC Mark Heimbuch, Source Photonics

Rita Horner, Synopsys Jonathan King, Finisar Paul Kolesar, CommScope David Lewis, JDS Uniphase Jeffery Maki, Juniper

David Malicoat, HP Enterprise Flavio Marques, Furukawa

Marco Mazzini, Cisco

Paul Mooney, Spirent Gary Nicholl, Cisco Mark Nowell, Cisco

Tomas Pajda, Independent

R K Rannow, APIC

Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics

Sam Sambasivan, AT&T Dan Sparacin, Aurrion Peter Stassar, Huawei Phil Sun, Marvell

Bharat Tailor, Semtech Frederick Tang, Broadcom

Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics

Brian Welch, Luxtera Martin White, Cavium

Qing Xu, Belden

Pavel Zivny, Tektronix