Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 5 April 2016

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:02 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. There was no response, so the agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 1 March 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: 200GBASE-DR4: A Baseline Proposal for the 200G 500m Objective

Presenter: Brian Welch, Luxtera See welch 01 0416 smf

Brian noted that the wavelength rows in the version he was presenting had been changed from the posted version. Also, during the presentation, it was pointed out that since the wavelength rows now have the same values as for 400GBASE-DR4 in D1.3, they should be black. An updated version of the presentation in welch_01a_0416_smf was posted after the meeting.

Pete pointed out that if the Task Force wishes to move to Working Group ballot in the July 2016 meeting, there needs to be discussion of the TDP/TDEC method at the next SMF Ad Hoc call. Brian said that some people were working toward this and Ali Ghiasi offered his help.

The meeting closed at 8:35 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Pete Anslow, Ciena William Bliss, Broadcom John D'Ambrosia, Futurewei (a subsidiary of Huawei)

Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

Mark Kimber, Semtech
David Law, HP Enterprise
Greg LeCheminant, Keysight

Marco Mazzini, Cisco
Paul Mooney, Spirent
Gary Nicholl, Cisco
Phong Pham, US Conec
Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Rick Rabinovich, Ixia R K Rannow, APIC

Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics

Scott Sommers, Molex

Peter Stassar, Huawei Steve Swanson, Corning Bharat Tailor, Semtech Frederick Tang, Broadcom

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity

Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent Stefano Valle, STMicroelectronics

Brian Welch, Luxtera Martin White, Cavium Michael Vrazel, MaxLinear

Hai-Feng Liu, Intel

Josh Cornelius, Samtec

Slobodan Milijevic, Microsemi