Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 3 May 2016

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:00 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml</u>

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. There was no response, so the agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 19 April 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title:CWDM Equivalent TDP 50G PAM4 MeasurementsPresenter:Chris Cole, FinisarSeecole_01_0516_smf

In response to a question, Chris confirmed that the measurements were made with a PRBS15 test pattern and a 33 GHz scope bandwidth.

Presentation #2

Title:	Updated baseline proposals for 200GBASE-FR4 and 200GBASE-LR4
Presenter:	Peter Stassar, Huawei
See	stassar_01_0516_smf

After discussion of presentations #1 and #2, a request was made for further measurements of the worst case dispersion penalty for a 10 km CWDM solution.

Presentation #3

Title:	TDEC for PAM4 ('TDECQ')
Presenter:	Jonathan King, Finisar
See	king_01_0516_smf

During the presentation, Jonathan made some changes to the proposed content in response to comments and he invited additional comments after the meeting. A revised version of the contribution incorporating these comments was posted after the meeting as king_02_0516_smf.

The meeting closed at 10:07 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list plus e-mail notifications of attendance)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson Anand Anandakumar, MaxLinear Pete Anslow, Ciena Abhijeet Ardey, Source Photonics Derek Cassidy, BT (Affiliation ICRG) Chris Cole, Finisar John D'Ambrosia, Futurewei (a subsidiary of Huawei) Piers Dawe, Mellanox Mike Dudek, QLogic Paul Gavrilovic, Cisco Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC Rita Horner, Synopsys Jeff Hutchins, Ranovus Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo Mark Kimber, Semtech Jonathan King, Finisar Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Paul Kolesar, CommScope Kumaran Krishnasamy, Broadcom David Law, HP Enterprise David Lewis, Lumentum Hai-Feng Liu, Intel Karen Liu, Kaiam Jeffery Maki, Juniper David Malicoat, HP Enterprise Marco Mazzini, Cisco Raymond Nering, Cisco

Gary Nicholl, Cisco Mark Nowell, Cisco Tom Palkert, Luxtera-Molex Vasu Parthasarathy, Broadcom Phong Pham, US Conec Thang Pham, Finisar David Piehler, Dell Rick Pimpinella, Panduit Rick Rabinovich, Ixia Michael Ressl, Hitachi Cable Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics Toshiaki Sakai, Socionext Edward Sprague, Infinera Atul Srivastava, NEL Peter Stassar, Huawei Steve Swanson, Corning Andre Szczepanek, Inphi Bharat Tailor, Semtech Frederick Tang, Broadcom Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics Michael Vrazel, MaxLinear Winston Way, NeoPhotonics Brian Welch, Luxtera Martin White, Cavium Qing Xu, Belden Pavel Zivny, Tektronix Tony Zortea, MultiPhy