## Approved minutes P802.3bs 200 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 7 June 2016

## Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:02 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml</u>

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. There was no response, so the agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 3 May 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

## Presentation #1

Title:200GbE & 400GbE 2km & 10km Specifications Update ProposalsPresenter:Chris Cole, FinisarSeecole\_01\_0616\_smf

During the presentation, it was pointed out that some parameters shown as TBD did have values in the D1.4 version of the P802.3bs draft, so a corrected version was posted after the meeting as cole\_01a\_0616\_smf. Pete asked whether there were any objections to the changes proposed in this presentation. No one objected.

John D'Ambrosia reminded the meeting participants to register and book a hotel if they intend to attend the P802.3bs June interim meeting in Piscataway.

Pete noted that the bandwidth for the combination of the O/E converter and the oscilloscope in 124.8.5 of P802.3bs D1.4 had been set at 0.75 x the signalling rate (38.68 GHz) and that while there had been some discussion of whether a value lower than this should be used, there was no agreement on an alternative value.

It was noted that there was one remaining SMF Ad Hoc call opportunity before the Piscataway meeting on 14 June at 8:00 am Pacific.

The meeting closed at 8:37 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list plus e-mail notifications of attendance)

Anand Anandakumar, MaxLinear Pete Anslow, Ciena Abhijeet Ardey, Source Photonics Chris Cole, Finisar John D'Ambrosia, Futurewei (a subsidiary of Huawei) Piers Dawe, Mellanox Mike Dudek, QLogic Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC Akinori Hayakawa, Fujitsu Rita Horner, Synopsys Tao Hu, QLogic Jeff Hutchins, Ranovus Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo Greg LeCheminant, Keysight David Malicoat, HP Enterprise Dale Murray, LightCounting Gary Nicholl, Cisco Vasu Parthasarathy, Broadcom Phong Pham, US Conec David Piehler, Dell Rick Rabinovich, Ixia Jeff Rahn, Infinera Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics Dan Sparacin, Aurrion Peter Stassar, Huawei Bharat Tailor, Semtech Frederick Tang, Broadcom Martin White, Cavium Pavel Zivny, Tektronix