## Approved minutes P802.3bs 200 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 21 June 2016

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 9:04 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. There was no response, so the agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 14 June 2016 call. No one responded, so these minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

## Presentation #1

Title: SMF comments
Presenter: Pete Anslow, Ciena
See anslow 02 0616 smf

Pages 3, 4, and 5

There were no objections to the proposed changes to the 200GBASE-FR4/LR4 and 400GBASE-FR8/LR8 power budgets.

Pages 6 and 7

Concerns were raised by several participants regarding the proposed changes to the 400GBASE-DR4 power budget.

Page 8

Regarding the proposed change to the bandwidth of the combination of the O/E converter and the oscilloscope used to measure TDECQ for 400GBASE-DR4, information was requested on the curve of measured TDECQ value vs. measurement bandwidth. There was also a consensus that the impact of reduced bandwidth would need to be negligible before the word "minimum" could be added.

## Page 9

There was no consensus to make the change proposed by comment #14.

There was also some discussion of comment #115 regarding the term "OMAinner" in Tables 121-7, 122-11, 122-12, and 124-7. The consensus view was that the best solution was to change "Receiver sensitivity (OMAinner), each lane (max)" to "Receiver sensitivity (OMAouter), each lane (max)" and add 4.8 dB to the associated power values.

The meeting closed at 10:03 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list plus e-mail notifications of attendance)

Ghani Abbas, Ericsson

Anand Anandakumar, MaxLinear

Pete Anslow, Ciena

Abhijeet Ardey, Source Photonics

Matthew Brown, Applied Micro (AMCC)

Derek Cassidy, BT (Affiliation ICRG)

Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Mike Dudek, QLogic

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

Mark Kimber, Semtech

Paul Kolesar, CommScope

Kumaran Krishnasamy, Broadcom

Greg LeCheminant, Keysight

Hai-Feng Liu, Intel

David Malicoat, HP Enterprise

Paul Mooney, Spirent

Vasu Parthasarathy, Broadcom

Sergio Prestipino, Exfo Rick Rabinovich, Ixia Peter Stassar, Huawei Bharat Tailor, Semtech Frederick Tang, Broadcom

Stephen Trowbridge, Nokia Ed Ulrichs, Source Photonics

Qing Xu, Belden