## Approved minutes P802.3bs 200 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 27 June 2017

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:02 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete also noted the updated IEEE 802 participation slide (<a href="http://www.ieee802.org/devdocs.shtml">http://www.ieee802.org/devdocs.shtml</a>) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda. There was no response, so the agenda was approved by the Ad Hoc.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 13 June 2017 call. No one responded, so these minutes were approved by the Ad Hoc.

## Presentation #1

Title: Comparison of TDECQ vs Reference Bandwidth

Presenter: Marlin Viss, Keysight

See lecheminant\_01\_0617\_smf

## Presentation #2

Title: TDECQ changes and consequent spec limits

Presenter: Jonathan King, Finisar See king 02 0617 smf

## Presentation #3

Title: Detailed changes needed for king 01 0617 smf

Presenter: Pete Anslow, Ciena See anslow\_02\_0617\_smf

After the presentation of all three presentations, several attendees expressed the view that it would be preferable to make no change to the receiver sensitivities but instead to modify the notes to say "and is defined for a transmitter with SECQ of 0.9 dB."

The meeting closed at 10:00 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance):

Anand Anandakumar, MaxLinear Hai-Feng Liu, Intel
Pete Anslow, Ciena Karen Liu, Kaiam

Nathan Botts, Unknown Raul Lozano, Aruba Networks

Derek Cassidy, BT (Affiliation ICRG)

David Malicoat, Senko

Frank Chang, Inphi Karl Muth, Rockley Photonics

Weiying Cheng, Coriant Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Jaclyn Dang, Cisco Dave Penkler, HP Enterprise

Piers Dawe, Mellanox Thang Pham, Finisar
Stephen Didde, Keysight Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics

Mike Dudek, Cavium Shigeaki Sekiguchi, Fujitsu

Ed Frlan, Semtech Scott Sommers, Molex

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC, Huawei Peter Stassar, Huawei

Akinori Hayakawa, Fujitsu Phil Sun, Credo

Jonathan Ingham, FoxconnAndre Szczepanek, SelfMark Kimber, SemtechYuri Vandyshev, CiscoJonathan King, FinisarMarlin E Viss, Keysight

Bill Kirkland, Semtech

Paul Kolesar, CommScope

Martin Wiss, Keysight

Brian Welch, Luxtera

Martin White, Cavium

Greg LeCheminant, Keysight Adrian Young, Leviton

David Lewis, Lumentum Pavel Zivny, Tektronix