IEEE P802.3bs 400GbE Ad Hoc Teleconference, June 4, 2014

Chair: John D'Ambrosia, Dell

Approved Meeting Notes Prepared by John DÁmbrosia, Dell

Meeting started at 10:05am EST.

Patent Slides showed, call for patents – no response.

Presentation #1	Our Path Forward Optically
Presented by	John D'Ambrosia
File name	dambrosia_3bs_01a_0614.pdf (note – file was updated with patent slides)

Discussion

D'Ambrosia indicated that he thought two ad hocs, one focused on SMF and one on MMF would be the most productive, as either area might dominate a given phone call, and not allow adequate time for the other topic. There was minimal discussion on what data people will be looking for to resolve the modulation and rate debates. Peter Stassar indicated he is working on a proposed list. D'Ambrosia reminded everyone to use the reflector to leverage the collective expertise of the Task Force. It was discussed whether there was a requirement for commonality between the MMF and SMF PMDs. D'Ambrosia noted that there is nothing in the objectives requiring this, but recognized that commonality between solutions could be viewed as beneficial; though in some instances it might not be in the best interest of the solution. It was also noted that the work of the MMF and SMF PMDs might be intertwined into other aspects of the project, such as the electrical interface.

Based on the call, D'Ambrosia announced that he would be forming a SMF Ad hoc and a MMF Ad hoc. Pete Anslow will be chairing the SMF Ad hoc, and Jonathan King the MMF Ad Hoc. The formal charters of the Ad hocs will be sent out to the reflectors afterwards.

D'Ambrosia thanked Hugh Barrass, Cisco for hosting the Webex. He also requested that any individuals who could host a webex in the future contact him.

Meeting adjourned approximately 10:55am EST.

Attendees

First	Last	Affiliation
Ghani	Abbas	Ericsson
Pete	Anslow	Ciena
Hugh	Barrass	Cisco
Vipul	Bhatt	Inphi
Patricia	Bower	Fujitsu
David	Brown	Semtech
Sacha	Corbeil	JDSU
John	D'Ambrosia	Dell
Piers	Dawe	Mellanox
lan	Dedic	Fujitsu
John	Ewen	IBM
Steve	Gorshe	PMC-Sierra
Mark	Gustlin	Xilinx
David	Koehler	More than IP
Keisuke	kojima	Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories
Paul	Kolesar	Commscope
Brett	Lane	Panduit
David	Lewis	JDSU
Tom	McDermott	Fujitsu
Andy	Moorwood	Infinera
Dale	Murray	Lightcounting
Pravin	Patel	IBM
Rick	Rabinovich	Alcatel-Lucent
Ram	Rao	Oclaro
Xiaolu	Song	Huawei
Peter	Stassar	Huawei
Tomoo	Takahara	Fujitsu
Toshiki	Tanaka	Fujitsu
Brian	Teipen	ADVA
Alexander	Umnov	Fujitsu