Meeting Minutes: IEEE 802.3bt DTE Power via MDI over 4-pair Task Force

March, 15 - 17, 2016, Macau, PRC

Matthias Wendt

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

802.3bt task force in session at 10:04 AM (meeting room Milan-2006).

- Secretary: Matthias Wendt.
- Agenda review
- Motion: Move to approve agenda for March 2016 Task Force meeting as proposed in agenda_0316.pdf, moved by Matthias Wendt seconded by Yair Darshan. (Procedural, 50%) Passes by voice without opposition.
 - Cover ground rules, IEEE Patent Policy
 - Call for potentially essential patents; no reply.
- Motion: Move to approve minutes from January 2016 as posted in minutes_0116.pdf, moved by Matthias Wendt seconded by David Stover. (Procedural, 50%)
 Passes by voice without opposition.
 - 08:15 Start reviewing the liaison letter from Prof. Dr.-Ing. Albrecht Oehler, Convenor ISO/IEC
 JTC1/SC 25 WG 3, containing questions to BT group in relation to ongoing work on ISO/IEC
 TR29125. The letter can be found here:
 www.ieee802.org/3/minutes/mar16/incoming/SC25_N2545_to_IEEE_802d3_remote_powering.p
 df
 - Task group is discussing the responding letter.
 - 11:05 Start with reviewing comments of the Draft 1.6, filed March, 2016
 - Summary: 325 comments in, 107 to be discussed selected by Dave and marked TFTD, 62 pulled out by task group members. Total of 169 are now to be discussed during March meeting.
 - 11:55 Session recess
 - 13:05 Session resumes.
 - Proceeded with reviewing comments of the Draft 1.6
 - 14:55 Session recess
 - 15:17 Session resumes
 - The Task Force finishes the first pass through all comments not waiting for presentations. 84 comments remain open.

Session recessed at 19:15

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

8:02am – Steve Carlson holds an adhoc to present the ITU Resistivity adhoc information, time graciously provided by IEEE P802.3bt.

802.3bt task force in session at 8:17 am (meeting room Venetian Ballroom D).

Proceeded with reviewing comments of the Draft 1.6, which are grouped by topics

```
8:21 Presentation 1: Picard_01
8:54 Presentation 2: Stewart_02
9:51 Presentation 3: Yseboodt 04
10:12 Session recess
10:34 Session resumes
10:39 Presentation 4: Darshan 07
11:33 Presentation 5: Yseboodt 07
11:45 Presentation 6: Zimmerman 01
11:55 Session recess for lunch
13:35 Session resumes
13:50 Presentation 7: Darshan_03
14:31 Presentation 8: Yseboodt 02
14:43 Presentation 9: Yseboodt_01
15:02 Session recess
15:21 Session resumes
15:31 Presentation 10: Yseboodt_06
15:50 Presentation 11: Beia 01
16:16 Presentation 12: Darshan 06
17:08 Presentation 13: Darshan 01
17:20 Presentation 14: Stewart_01
```

 The Task Force then reviews the remaining open comments of the Draft 1.6. 28 comments remain.

Session recessed at 17:59

Thursday, March 17, 2016

802.3bt task force in session at 8:00 am (meeting room Milan-2006).

- The chair reviewed the Liaison letter response with the small group of attendees that decided to show up on time. Once a reasonable amount of attendees were present, at 8:10am, the group entered back into comment resolution.
- The following presentations were reviewed the morning of March 17. Unfortunately, the times of the presentations we neglected to be noted.
 - Presentation 15: Darshan_02
 - Presentation 16: Darshan_04
 - Presentation 17: Darshan_05

• Presentation 18: Darshan_09

10:04 Session Recess 10:25 Session Resumes.

3. Motion: Move that the Chair presents the PAR Modification to the WG for approval at the

Plenary close

Mover: Matthias Wendt Seconder: Yair Darshan

Technical, 75%

Passes by voice without opposition.

4. Motion: Move that the chair presents the Liaison reply to the WG at the plenary close

Mover: Lennart Yseboodt Seconder: Fred Schindler

Procedural, 50%

Passes by voice without opposition.

- Proceeded with reviewing the remaining comments of the Draft 1.6, which are grouped by topics
- **5. Motion:** Move to adopt comment resolutions in the comment database and charter the editor to create D1.7 by incorporating the comments, for review by April 4, 2016.

Mover: David Abrahamson Seconder: Lennart Yseboodt

Technical, 75%

Y: 30 N: 0 A: 0

Motion-Passes

6. Motion: Move that the Chair holds a comment cycle on D1.7 starting no later than April 4, 2016 and ending May 1, 2016 11:59PM AOE, with proposed responses posted by May 6, 2016

Mover: Lennart Yseboodt Seconder: David Abrahamson

Technical, 75%

Y: 30x N: 0 A: 0

Motion-Passes

7. Motion: Move to adjourn

Moved by Matthias Wendt. Passes by voice with no opposition.

Session Ends 11:48.

4PPoE Task Force Attendance						
Name	Employer	Affiliation	3/15	3/10	3/17	
Chad Jones	CT300	CTSCO	CNIT	ant	CMJ	
David Abramson	TI	TI	Da	Das	Ja	1
ELT OHANA	Microsemi	Microsemi	4.	At.	1	
YAIR DARSHA	Microserri'	Mcrosen'	3	3	3	
5 Fred Schindler	Seen Simply	Broadcom Cisco TI	ZA	2RS	200	
LENNART YSKROODT	PHILIPS Lighting	PHILIPS Lighting	1	R	1	
Madrias Wendt	Phillps Lighting	Philips Lighting	12)	N	as	
David Tremblay	Hewlett Packard Enterp	ise(HPE) HPE	W	DI	DI	
Miklos Lulcacs	Silicon Lubs	Silicon	Lukis	Lukes	Lukis	
10 SESHA PANGULURI	BROADCOM	BROADCOM	PS	180m	Poter	
Dayin XV	Rockwell Automation	Rockwell Automation	DX	/	DX	
CHRISMAN BELA	STHICKDELEGRONICS	STHICROELECTRONICS	B	BC	B	
JEAN PICARD	Tì	Ti	m	AP	P	
JAIRD BUSDS HEREDIA	WiETH ELEKTRONIKES	Wirm Elementheis	S. C.	Ale S		_
15 Sam, chen	Canyon Semi		SAM			
FRED DAWSON	CHEMOURS	CHENOUES	TO S	R.	A	
Toe chen	pulse	pulse	Tue			
Toegy Luo	pulse	pulse	tuegy			
TAVID STOVER	LTC	LTC	DMS 1		DWS	
20 Craig Chabot	UNH-IOL	UNH-POR	CK	//		

	Name	Employer	Affiliation	715	7,	2
			010		3/40	717
33	Geoff Thompson	GRACAS (Self	6,	S,	
	Healt Slewart	LTC	LTC	HS.	As	18
	Ardeshir Mohammadian	Brocade Com	BroCade	A.M	A.M	AM
	HAIFEL WARY	Huaure,	Huavei.	h		
	5 George ZIMMER MEN STERLING PADEN	CALE Consulty	LTC, Commissing Agrin	1	yes.	Skg.
	STERLING PADEN	VADENENT	SURTEC IND.		SV	SV
	Valeric maguire	Sicron (1)	Siemon		Oar	4
	CLARK CARTY	CISCO	(1510		CAC	
	Victor Rantania	Bal Magnatic	B4/		VR	VR
	10 MASOND SHARIFF	COMMSCOPE	COMMSCOPE		MY	MH
N	Same Chen	Canyon	Canyon		Sam	Same
	Chen Wing Alan Ng.	Bel Fuse	Bel Fuse		Olem	90m
	Andrew Jimenez	Anixter	Anixter		æ 8	1
	Paul Vanderloon	Bork-Tek	Pork-Tek		PE	
	15 MOHAMMAD SABOORS	PULSE ELECTRA	ic Pulse Elec		m.c.	
	Vine Zhang	HALO	MALO		Vince	2
*	DENMS TEAMS	upro	UPLO		19	
	Bob Wagner	PANDUIT	PAUDVIT		RRW	
	Toe chen	milse	pulse		The	8
	20 Andy Garder	LTC	LTC		DG-8	ATE

	Name	Employer	Affiliation	3/15	3/16	3/17
	FARID HAMIDY	Pulse	Pulse	1	SH	
3	PETE CIBVIA	INTEL	INTE		PNC	
	JON LEWIS	DETL	DELL		n	
	Theo Brillhart	Fluke	Fluke		B.	
	5 MATTEL WAHG	Huarei	Humer .		_	a
	VAREE HAYDUCES MA	BHN	BUN		1	lay
•	Day Dove	DNS	LTC			BD
	LarsEllegand	Microsemi	Microsemi			(E
	Mandeep Chadha	Microsem'	Misson			1
	10 AMRIK BAINL	Cisco	C15 C0			Ans
						/
	15					
	20		E			